We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back, gorgeous and whatever you make of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eco Venao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eco Venao
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Venao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“laid back, gorgeous and whatever you make of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We came to Eco Venao with recommendation from many people. it has the longest stretch of undeveloped beach while at the eastern end there are several new hotels being developed--it feels cramped there, but the food is good at El Sitio, although more expensive. I liked being in the trees with the beach below. The open air restaurant has lots of delicious variety, although the excellent Spanish chef we were told about has gone back home. The staff is friendly and helpful, most supporting their surfing habit working at the resort. William is said to be a great surf instructor, and yoga with Beverly is wonderful! We were upgraded from a Casita to Casa Mango, and were hesitant about sharing a house, but each family has its own sleeping tower and bathroom with a shared open air lounge and kitchen. And we loved our neighbors and their little girl! The best leather rocking chairs and hammocks made the sunsets even more fabulous. There is also a palapa by the beach with more hammocks.

Room Tip: Sounds like your budget will be accommodated by many room choices. They probably are all good. Fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
78
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabanitas, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family was very happy that they made the long road trip from Colon Province, and they are eager to return. An undisturbed natural beach is ecoming a rare and precious thing. The lodgings were more than comfortable, even luxurious for remote areas of Panama, and we found delicious and healthy options at your open-air restaurant.

It was a very appropriate place for a family reunión with a 2 1/2 year old child. We had privacy and the luxury of a beach that was not at all crowded. The water's edge was shallow, the waves were gente, and my grand-daughter loved both the beach and the "pirate's lair" playground.

On our next visit we would like to try kayaking and play activities for pre-schoolers.

Marianne Akers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Come as you are, Relax and above all, enjoy and connect with nature and other fellow travelers. We’ve been visiting Eco Venao since 2007 and tried almost every one of their different types of accommodations. Clean, comfortable, and rightly priced, this charming lodge is suitable for solo travelers, couples and families. Eco Venao has a room for every budget. From a dorm bed to a fully equipped ocean view 4 bedroom house, have your pick. The El Panama Restaurant has Amazing Food, really the best Tuna I can remember. Everything is delicious. Sip through a Ron Abuelo and let the music play. There is a kitchen which come in very handy for cooking breakfast and other meals. Surf boards, paddle boards, kayaks, horses and yoga lessons are available. The facilities feature tropical vernacular rustic down to earth architecture and the Lodge manager, Nico, and his staff, is super friendly. Thank you Nico, Esteban, Lil Marie, Catalina and everyone for a great time every single time and congratulations for such a beautiful place. AP

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanamaWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Eco Venao is really crazy good.
We have been there im February 2013 and it was the best place we have been to in Panama...
It s a really big Area with sooo much nature.
The people are really kind.
in our 6 nights we stayed in almost every accomodation they have haha... it was so much fun.
What we loved most was the casa mango (it is open to the nature and there are two towers with the two sleeping areas inside where you can see the ocean from lying in bed)
The double room is really small but also very clean.
The outside cabanas are crazy without windows just directly into the natire and you have a lot of monkeys running around.
The daily menue was cheap and reeeeeeaaally awesome...
The surfspot was really easy to surf and we met a lot of kind and chilled people there.... we definitely want to come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Our visit and stay at Eco Venao was interesting and enjoyable (April 2013). From the modern convinces to the rustic living, Casa Mango gives you both. Be sure to bring lots of bug repellent. The house is open to nature. George (we named the frog) is a perfect example of sharing your accommodations with nature. The home has no air conditioning, which made it difficult to sleep in 35 - 40 C. Overall, the owners and staff were great. Must check out the yoga with Loli. Her classes are fantastic, one of the better yoga instructors I've had the opportunity to take a class from.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SRAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

- Every activity in the book - horseback riding, surfing, yoga, massage, hiking, etc. etc.
- incredible staff - so friendly and helpful
- awesome guest - worldy, interesting travelers
- nice accomodations - pick your own adventure!
- UNREAL location - tucked away in the south of panama on 140 acres of land

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrudoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

With a variety of room choices,a good, affordable restaurant on the premises, and lots of activities,this is an ideal place for a an eco escape.
Also, please note that in Pedasi, 30 minutes away, the beach is a nesting site for the Green Sea Turtle and there is a local volunteer organization which monitors the beach several nights a week
checking on nests and hatchlings during the months of May through November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Venao
0.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Venao Cove
Hostel Venao Cove
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Venao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Venao

Property: Eco Venao
Address: Carretera Principal | Playa Venao, Playa Venao, Pedasi 0000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi > Playa Venao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Venao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eco Venao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Venao Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing