We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Venao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eco Venao
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Venao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“A Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

- Every activity in the book - horseback riding, surfing, yoga, massage, hiking, etc. etc.
- incredible staff - so friendly and helpful
- awesome guest - worldy, interesting travelers
- nice accomodations - pick your own adventure!
- UNREAL location - tucked away in the south of panama on 140 acres of land

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrudoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
76
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

With a variety of room choices,a good, affordable restaurant on the premises, and lots of activities,this is an ideal place for a an eco escape.
Also, please note that in Pedasi, 30 minutes away, the beach is a nesting site for the Green Sea Turtle and there is a local volunteer organization which monitors the beach several nights a week
checking on nests and hatchlings during the months of May through November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Eco Venao was one of the best places we stayed while in Panama. We did not have reservations, so we moved around the property a bit. This was fine with us because we got a tour of all the rooms. Our first room was a private next to the dorm. Nice wood interiors and easy walking distance to their yummy restaurant, which served the best food in Venao hands down. Next, we went up the hill to a duplex sort of setup. This again was great! Clean, comfy, stylish. Lastly, we went further up the hill to our own house. An architect with a lot of style designed it and we LOVED it! We had lots of privacy and our kitchen, hammock, chill out space. The staff was exceptionally helpful. The restaurant was the highlight because it served more than just the usual fried foods found in Panama. You could tell that lots of love went into the dishes. Thanks again for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicBennyLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was so special and I feel fortunate to have gotten to stay here. There is an assortment of lodging available here to satisfy every budget and lifestyle. We stayed in La Casona which was a fully furnished 2 bedroom house, 2 1/2 bath, dining room and kitchen! It overlooks the ocean and the views are fantastic as are all the beautiful flowers, plants and trails; one trail includes a beautiful waterfall. We had the company of monkeys, iguanas, and beautiful birds which greeted us everyday.
The food and service at the restaurant were great as well and the beach was one of the best I've experienced on my trip so far! Everyone we encountered was helpful and had a smile on their face. Words simply can't describe how wonderful this place is. If you have the opportunity to stay here don't pass it up!!!!
AlaskaCheryl

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly staff and great location close to the beach and close to nature. Lots of activities too- surfing, yoga, lounging on the beach. Perfect for a quiet getaway. Their restaurant had some of the best food I ate in Panama, hands down. The only small criticism is that although I didn't experience many mosquitos while at EcoVenao, there were a number of strange insects in my room but no mosquito net. I think considering EcoVenao's proximity to the surrounding forest, rooms should have mosquito nets over the bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMatt415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

EcoVenao offers the perfect place for a laid-back and fun getaway, as well as the opportunity to get out of Panama City and enjoy the beautiful Panamanian countryside. The resort has a wide range of sleeping options, appealing to all types of travelers / budgets. There is a very friendly and casual air to EcoVenao, which makes guests feel extremely welcomed and completely relaxed. Activities are really easy to schedule and there is something for everyone - we enjoyed surfing, yoga, horseback riding, massages and kayaking. The food is delicious as well, and the restaurant offers a wide range of options for each meal and / or snack - whenever / whatever you want!

Room Tip: We stayed 4 nights in La Casona which was very spacious and comfortable, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura201309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had 4 lovely nights at Eco Vanao. We were lucky to stay at the Mango house and it was a real treat after more than 2 months of travel. Owners Nico and Sarah are friendly, laid back and an all round nice couple who helped us whenever we needed anything.
The surf was good and board rental cheap.
My partner attended yoga classes and enjoyed the setting right on the beach.
All in all a very nice lush green bit of paradise on the beach.
The only tiny criticism I'd add is our tuna was over cooked in the restaurant. Tiny in the grand scheme of things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Venao
0.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Venao Cove
Hostel Venao Cove
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Venao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Venao

Property: Eco Venao
Address: Carretera Principal | Playa Venao, Playa Venao, Pedasi 0000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi > Playa Venao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Venao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eco Venao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Venao Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing