We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Breezes, Ocean Views, Friendly Service, Great Amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Venao

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eco Venao
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Venao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Breezes, Ocean Views, Friendly Service, Great Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We just got back from our trip to Venao with friends. We stayed at Eco Venao and were very impressed by the service, amenities, location, and accommodations. This budget hotel has an awesome restaurant that is well priced, has great chill out spots, a ping pong table, and is just a 5 minute walk to the best surfing spot! If you come to Panama you do not want to miss out staying at Eco Venao and Surfing at Playa Venao! : )

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanamaLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
76
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed here for a little under two weeks, relaxing, enjoying the beach and the amazing views from the hostel.

The double rooms are very comfortable and quiet, kitchen is good.

It's a bit of a trek to get to, and to top up your food supplies (there is occasionally a delivery by the mobile veggie/fish van but not everyday) but well worth the effort. It's fun hitching up and down the beach road...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Eco Venao. It's remote but accessible, eco-friendly but comfortable. There's surf there 9 out of 10 days of the year but it's not crowded. There's a good festive atmosphere close-by but you can come for yoga, peace and quiet. I've been and I've been back. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I went to EcoVenao for the first time with some friends last year. It's off the beaten track (a long drive from Panama City or a shorter one from Pedasi), so I wouldn't have known about it had it not been for them. What a beautiful spot sandwiched between tropical rainforest and the phosphorescent Pacific waters! The first time we went we stayed in these beautifully designed eco-lodges with views overlooking the ocean and an open-air living room and kitchen. It was spectacular. Very quiet and peaceful. The place has its own private beach where you can practice your surfing on waves perfect for beginners. We were pretty lucky that we went during the season where they had hired a chef to take care of all of our meals, which was part of the lodging. It was incredible! I'm not sure the chef is there year round, and you may have to fend for yourself, but there's a kitchen and a couple of restaurants down the beach from the place. For more advanced surfers, there are some pretty big waves just a short drive down the coast. The place, the people -- all were perfect. I loved it so much I went back this year too. Perfect place to head in the middle of winter (February) to get a healthy dose of sunshine and relax in a truly laid-back and warm setting. Oh, and they have horses you can ride too, if you want! But you need to know what you're doing!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We have stayed at Eco Venao at least once a year since 2006. We have seen the project develop into a wonderful lodging choice. Although getting to Venao can be a bit tricky, it's worth the trip. The beach is spectacular and the surf fantastic. Staying at Eco Venao allows direct access to the beach but is nestled within the tropical forest providing daily sightings of local wildlife. If you don't feel like surfing, you can hike the river to the waterfall or ride horses through the rambling property. The lodging options run the gamut here, ranging from pitching your own tent to renting a luxury home. No matter what option you choose, be sure to hang out at the Paragua in the evenings where you can meet other surfers and like-minded travelers looking for a unique travel experience. We always meet interesting people on our stays at Eco Venao, many of which have become great friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Goodbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Getting to Eco-Venao can be an adventure in itself. And a good one, at that! We rented a car in P. City and made the trip in just over four hours with a couple of great stops in Las Tablas and Pedasi. Coming down the hills into Playa Venao gives you the feeling for how perfect this place is. The Rancho at the beach is still serving ice-cold beers for lass than a dollar and a plato (chicken/fish, beans & rice, + some veg.) is still less than three bucks. And the waves just keep rolling in! We stayed up in La Casona where you get the whole view of the bay just by lifting your head from the pillow. So perfect! We walked up "the drain" to see howler monkeys and a little waterfall and spent hours in the hammocks on the beach. We took advantage of the Yoga platform and saw a pod of dolphins entertaining themselves for hours out in the bay. The sit on top kayak is great fun in the waves-- just be careful to wipe out away from the kayak. I could go on with more fun activities, but hte best is to discober these things for yourself. Get down there-- you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_P_Chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

All around one of the best places to stay anywhere. Privacy, beauty, nature, outdoor activities, local surf, and other local travel and sport attractions, make this a top notch place to visit. The rooms/houses, range from very low budget bunk beds and low priced private rooms and sweet little bungalows, to a little pricier, very comfortable, AWESOME views, private houses, and rooms with A/C. It is affordable, fun, and relaxing. There is a phone on the property, as well as internet and laundry. There are many staff, who have been there forever, and they make your stay easy. Catering is available too. I am thinking about taking my colleagues back there for a retreat, since it was such a great travel wedding destination for a friend of mine! I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jentilly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Venao
0.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#2 of 7 in Pedasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Venao Cove
Hostel Venao Cove
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Venao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Venao

Property: Eco Venao
Address: Carretera Principal | Playa Venao, Playa Venao, Pedasi 0000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi > Playa Venao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Venao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eco Venao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Venao Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing