We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best motel in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“best motel in town!”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel had an easy access of the highway. The room was clean and the price we paid was reasonable. We will be back next time! thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boetjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    104
    85
    58
    26
See reviews for
85
98
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have been coming to this super 8 for 2 years now. I love the location and the staff is really great. They have clean rooms and free wifi. I will stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalton5780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We travelled with a 4 yr old and a dog and were very happy with the hotel. Reception was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and good, no 5star hotel but very decent for the money. Clean sheets, clean bathroom and in very good condition. Great location to see Galena and drive up the River. We had to stay in a smoking room because of our dog, but that wasn't a problem either after opening the windows. Breakfast comes free and is coffe, juice, bagels, cereal, toast and even bisquits & gravy. It all depends on what level you are expecting, this isn't a Hilton but you get a whole lot for your money for sure. We'll definately stay there again to see Galena.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatandJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Happen to stop at the super 8 for the evening while passing through Dubuque because of their location, The service was excellent, The room was clean to my surprise, not many motels are clean like this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I was in Dubuque for a conference and hada chance to stay at the super 8 & the room I stayed in was in good condition and clean. The front desk gal was very helpful, gladly showed me good places to see and eat. The breakfast was good for the price I paid. I don't think I will be back in Dubuque, but if I do come back I will stay there again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieby1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayfarer6
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I visit Dubuque several times a year and always stay at the Super 8. The rooms are always well maintained, the staff are usually courteous, and the price is affordable. They have a new manager, who was inflexible with check in times. I arrived an hour early to check in before going to a graduation. The manager was exceedingly rude and refused to allow me to check in, until her wall clock hit the time. We (travelers) went to a local restaurant and hung out for the hour before the official check-in time. We made it to the graduation, but it was a pain in the butt to have to wait for an hour to check in, when there were clearly rooms available.

I recommend staying here, but don't expect any flexibility on the "rules."

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

I planned on staying at this Super 8, because I have had good experiences at other locations of this chain. However, the Saturday that I stopped there, the check-in staff was extremely rude and incompetent (there were several other people attempting to get rooms at the same time). Also, I was quoted rates that were about twice what they should have been for this type of accomodation. Needless to say, I found somewhere else to stay for the evening.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RedWing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8dbq, Manager at Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
I am sorry you had a bad experience, can you please tell me what time you tried to check in and what rate you were quoted?

568-582-8898

Nash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
604 reviews
1.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area

Property: Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Address: 2730 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-7126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Dubuque
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area Iowa
Dubuque Super Eight
Dubuque Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing