We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose another”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
“Choose another”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Parking was very crowded, lots of garbage laying out back like old tv's and such.
I got in late in the evening and secured a room, when I got to the room I noticed the bed spread was missing but since I dont use it for anything I said nothing to the front desk and went to bed, later in the day after checkout I was called but a manager who accused me of stealing the spread, I informed him it was missing when I arrived but he again called me a liar.
I will avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms to close to smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_b54774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked this room under my daughters name as she was the first to arrive but it was my fiance, my youngest daughter and myself that slept in this room and paid for it. The bathroom in the room had damage to the tub which when we brought to the attention of the staff was told they new about it and then we were ignored. I followed up my stay with an email to the customer service from the Super 8 web site and was responded to timely at first and offered a partial refund to be mailed to me. The contacted me to say the refund was mailed to my daughter at my house, but the check has not arrived at my house where they said they sent it or to Jamie where she lives. When I tried to follow up further I was told they could only send it to Jamie in South Dakota now and when I replied that was not possible since it wasn't her that paid for the room or reserved it and we aren't on friendly terms I have heard nothing from them since. At this point I do not believe Super 8 backs their promises to their customers and based on this alone I would not stay at a Super 8 again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8dbq, Manager at Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you responding but I have been working with you regarding this matter. The person that checked in the room was your daughter and she paid us cash when she checked in and we did mail a 20% refund off the total bill to her but you wanted me to mail a refund under your name. I have traced the check I sent and it was confirmed that it was delivered. Your daughter paid for the room and she registered for the room with her signature. I am sorry but I informed you that I cannot issue a refund under your name, simply because you are not the registered guest and you did not pay for the room. I am sorry but I tried my best to resolve this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubuque hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area

Property: Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Address: 2730 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-7126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Dubuque
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area Iowa
Dubuque Super Eight
Dubuque Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing