We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield, not fancy, just fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first experience staying at a Marriott Fairfield. We were heading to Waterloo area but didn't want to go that far after working all day so decided Dubuque would be a great location to stay. Being on the west side, this hotel was located close to a shopping mall, several restaurants, and conveniently located for an "escape" further to the west.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom could have used a little better cleaning and had a few cracks/chips but I'm a picky guy who notices little details.
The staff was VERY friendly. I think it must be a combo of Marriott training and Iowa personalities. We had pleasant interactions from check-in to check-out.
The bottled water at check-in was a nice touch. We needed it at that point as it was late and we had a lot of time in the car, a small thing that impressed us!
We got up late and as we were finishing breakfast the crew started to clean up the breakfast area/items. We were all asked individually if there was anything else we wanted or needed BEFORE they started the process. That kind of service from a small hotel is fantastic! Our first experience was good enough that we'll probably stay at Fairfield brand in the future.

Room Tip: Busy highway nearby, might be good to ask for a room on the south side of the hotel. We didn't n...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

There is nothing special about this hotel. The service didn't wow me, and the rooms are very typical of the other 200 hotels I've stayed at in the past two years. The room I stayed in faced the highway, so it was a very loud night. I should of asked to change rooms, but the time I realized how loud it was I was already unpacked. After driving for over 400 miles I didn't feel like moving again. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here. It isn't a bad hotel, it just is ordinary.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the very busy highway!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopekaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear TopekaTony,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn Dubuque. We strive to impress every one of our guests, but from the sounds of it we came up short. For that I'm very sorry. I appreciate your feedback as it will allow us to improve our services for future guests. Please allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Thanks to Carolyn at the desk for a great experience! The hotel has the amenities a couple traveling on a harley need....and unlike holiday inn....her answer was yes! Hot tub and pool? Yes! Breakfast? Yes! Thanks Carolyn for being so nice and converting us to fairfield customers!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very surprised by the condition of the hotel room. We were there for 6 days.Mold in stool, and on shower curtain, two spiders in bathroom, both queen beds were terrible as they had dips in them on the side toward the center of the room from guest always sleeping there and very narrow room. With chair for desk in place there was not enough room to walk between it and bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Jim F,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque. I'm very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. I will share your concerns with my housekeeping staff to ensure that everything is properly addressed. I hope that if you find yourself back in the area, you will allow us another opportunity to earn your business.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn using our Marriott points as part of the Tour of the Mississippi River Valley bicycle tour. Lobby area was open and contained the breakfast dining facility. The front staff was very friendly and helpful regarding pickup of our luggage the next morning by the tour staff. The room was fairly large with two queen beds, microwave, and small refrigerator. Pool available but no fitness center. Breakfast started at 6 am on Sunday, a nice surprise and great for us to start biking early. The usual fare for a Fairfield, eggs/sausage, waffles, cereal, etc. Many thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryw604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We ended up having car trouble, and the Fairfield Inn was across the street. When I called at about 11 p.m., I was greeted by a friendly staff member Julie. She saw that we had our granddaughter and pregnancy daughter with us, and got us checked in fast. Likewise, she made sure we had everything we needed. She put us on the second floor away from the noise and bustle of the lobby area. We were pleased with the wonderful Continental breakfast with lots of choices and a large eating area. If we ever pass that way again. . .we would stay at the Fairfield Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms close to lobby might be noisy at night as pool is open till 11, and breakfast starts at 6 a.m.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpowteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I'm a loyal Marriott Rewards member & will stay at a Marriott whenever possible, but I had second thoughts after checking into this property. I haven't stayed at a Fairfield Inn in over 20 years & probably won't again. The two ladies I encountered while checking in were very polite & professional. I realize the Fairfields are the cheaper ones of the Marriott chain, but after staying in the JW Marriotts, Marriott Resorts,Renaissance & Residence Inns, the Fairfields just don't compare. It was the only Marriott in town, so you make due for one night...plus I got a good rate for government employees.

The room itself was very clean, but really small. It had a nice flat screen TV, refrigerator & microwave. The bathroom was decent size with nice water pressure.

The hotel is close to all kinds of restaurants, gas stations & grocery stores...there is an Olive Garden right across the street.

I would only recommend this Fairfield for one night or if you want to earn points as being a Marriott Rewards member.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Bighouse0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Bighouse0820,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque and for being a Marriott Rewards member. I'm so glad to hear that my staff was polite and professional. I'm also glad that you found your room to be clean and our location convenient near restaurants and shopping. Please accept my apologies that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next visit to Dubuque.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#7 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Dubuque

Address: 3400 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $104 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn Dubuque, Iowa is proud to provide the absolute best hospitality and guest service available in the city of Dubuque. Located next door to Kennedy Mall and only a short drive from Loras College, Clarke University, and Dubuque University, this Dubuque hotel is perfect for all travelers. A variety of Dubuque, Iowa restaurants are located within a few miles, including Catfish Charlies. There are plenty of things to do in Dubuque, Iowa if you're traveling on leisure. The Mississippi River Museum, Fenelon Place Elevator and the Field of Dreams movie location are all local favorites located nearby. Guests at our Dubuque hotel have access to free WiFi, premium cable, indoor heated pool, and a hot and hearty breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Dubuque
Dubuque Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing