We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has it all and staff that cares!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“has it all and staff that cares!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Thanks to Carolyn at the desk for a great experience! The hotel has the amenities a couple traveling on a harley need....and unlike holiday inn....her answer was yes! Hot tub and pool? Yes! Breakfast? Yes! Thanks Carolyn for being so nice and converting us to fairfield customers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
37
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very surprised by the condition of the hotel room. We were there for 6 days.Mold in stool, and on shower curtain, two spiders in bathroom, both queen beds were terrible as they had dips in them on the side toward the center of the room from guest always sleeping there and very narrow room. With chair for desk in place there was not enough room to walk between it and bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jim F,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque. I'm very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. I will share your concerns with my housekeeping staff to ensure that everything is properly addressed. I hope that if you find yourself back in the area, you will allow us another opportunity to earn your business.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn using our Marriott points as part of the Tour of the Mississippi River Valley bicycle tour. Lobby area was open and contained the breakfast dining facility. The front staff was very friendly and helpful regarding pickup of our luggage the next morning by the tour staff. The room was fairly large with two queen beds, microwave, and small refrigerator. Pool available but no fitness center. Breakfast started at 6 am on Sunday, a nice surprise and great for us to start biking early. The usual fare for a Fairfield, eggs/sausage, waffles, cereal, etc. Many thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We ended up having car trouble, and the Fairfield Inn was across the street. When I called at about 11 p.m., I was greeted by a friendly staff member Julie. She saw that we had our granddaughter and pregnancy daughter with us, and got us checked in fast. Likewise, she made sure we had everything we needed. She put us on the second floor away from the noise and bustle of the lobby area. We were pleased with the wonderful Continental breakfast with lots of choices and a large eating area. If we ever pass that way again. . .we would stay at the Fairfield Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms close to lobby might be noisy at night as pool is open till 11, and breakfast starts at 6 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpowteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I'm a loyal Marriott Rewards member & will stay at a Marriott whenever possible, but I had second thoughts after checking into this property. I haven't stayed at a Fairfield Inn in over 20 years & probably won't again. The two ladies I encountered while checking in were very polite & professional. I realize the Fairfields are the cheaper ones of the Marriott chain, but after staying in the JW Marriotts, Marriott Resorts,Renaissance & Residence Inns, the Fairfields just don't compare. It was the only Marriott in town, so you make due for one night...plus I got a good rate for government employees.

The room itself was very clean, but really small. It had a nice flat screen TV, refrigerator & microwave. The bathroom was decent size with nice water pressure.

The hotel is close to all kinds of restaurants, gas stations & grocery stores...there is an Olive Garden right across the street.

I would only recommend this Fairfield for one night or if you want to earn points as being a Marriott Rewards member.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bighouse0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Bighouse0820,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque and for being a Marriott Rewards member. I'm so glad to hear that my staff was polite and professional. I'm also glad that you found your room to be clean and our location convenient near restaurants and shopping. Please accept my apologies that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next visit to Dubuque.

Sincerely,
Connie J.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were greeted by a friendly smile and welcome at the front desk. I asked about an early checkin, no problem. They even had fresh baked cookies in the lobby!

Went to the room and it was very clean, a bit on the smallish side, but a great deal for the cost. Breakfast was "okay" (I'm a bit picky and always wish for cranberry juice), but again, the staff went out of their way to provide good hospitality. My wife commented that the OJ had run out. The staffer refilled it and then poured a glass and brought it to the table with a smile.

Olive Garden is across the parking lot and lots of other shopping is close by. Convenient to Hwy 20 and JFK so you're on the two main arteries for the "burbs" of Dubuque. Highly recommend this as a low cost alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid the sound from the pool. It's a small hotel. We were pleased w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdmksg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night while on business. Check in process was smooth and easy. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Morning breakfast was gery good as well.
The one downside was the rooms do not offer a nice chair to relax in. When I travel, I like to have a room with a chair, so I am not watching TV from bed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Dubuque

Property: Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Address: 3400 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn Dubuque, Iowa is proud to provide the absolute best hospitality and guest service available in the city of Dubuque. Located next door to Kennedy Mall and only a short drive from Loras College, Clarke University, and Dubuque University, this Dubuque hotel is perfect for all travelers. A variety of Dubuque, Iowa restaurants are located within a few miles, including Catfish Charlies. There are plenty of things to do in Dubuque, Iowa if you're traveling on leisure. The Mississippi River Museum, Fenelon Place Elevator and the Field of Dreams movie location are all local favorites located nearby. Guests at our Dubuque hotel have access to free WiFi, premium cable, indoor heated pool, and a hot and hearty breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Dubuque
Dubuque Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing