We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent surprize!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent surprize!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I were in Dubuque for a two night stay. When the first night was not comfortable, the reservation had been made by a friend, we looked for a more suitable place to stay. The Hotel Julien was a very pleasent discovery. The staff was extreemly helpful, the room beautiful with down comforters and lovely furnishings. After a good night's sleep we were more than happy with the breakfast eaten at the hotel restaurant. I heartily reccommend the Bannabread French Toast! We certainly will stay there again on a return visit to Dubuque.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Julien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, rooms, and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you and your husband during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    413
    155
    76
    48
See reviews for
431
975
64
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Went to Dubuque area for a "girls getaway weekend". Did some shopping (and drinking) in Galena. I recommend the VFW if you want a great drink and dont want to pay $10 for it!! We finished up, and wanted to head to Dubuque to stay. Didn't really have a place in mind, but had a Garmin to locate some hotels. My friend suggested the Julien. I thought it might be to expensive, but when I went in to check on availability, I found that it was VERY well within our budget. VERY. We checked in, and went to our room. It was AMAZING. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. 2 queen size beds!!! Large, brignt, clean.... I can't say enough. Had a snack basket, and full mini bar. What was REALLY nice is that they didn't overstock the mini bar, so you could use the extra space. Went across the street to "The Hub" for a couple of drinks. It is a up beat place, more for a younger croud, but we were there early, so it wasn't up to speed yet. Had a very nice time there. The DJ said he owuld play anything we wanted to hear. Bar staff was very friendly. Recommended several nice places to eat. We ended up at the hotel at 9:58pm. We went to Carolines restaurant. I asked when they closed. She said 10. I asked if we could get dinner, she sat us right away. Wonderful staff! Our waitress was GREAT. We appologized for eating so late. She made sure we knew it wasn't a big deal for her. Food was amazing. Service was amazing. Had 1 appitizer, 2 entrees and one cocktail for $60. Very reasonable for this type of facility. After dinner, we decided we were full and happy, and wanted to hit the hay. Pretty nice bed, but the pillows were a bit more fluffy than I am used to. Nice pillows, and plenty of them, but like mine flatter. I wouldn't take that away from them though. Room had a lot of nice features, including extra lighting, Kuerig coffee/tee maker, BIG tv, BIG windows.... just a really nice room.
This hotel truly is a jem. Don't drive by, just because it isn't a chain. It really is one of the nicest hotels I ahve every been to , and very nicely priced!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Julien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you for the great comments. Sounds like you had a memorable girls' getaway weekend - we're happy to have been part of it. You're always welcome back, so come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We chose the Julien for our wedding reception and then accepted the complimentary room. Reception planning went smoothly and included a sumptuous tasting of menu options two weeks before the event. The wedding planner missed one appt. but was otherwise knowledgeable and accommodating. The reception room was prepared just as we'd planned, the buffet luncheon for 125 was delicious, and servers were competent, friendly, and helpful. The hotel was flexible about timing--opening the room early on short notice and not rushing us out at the end. The whole building has been recently renovated, and accommodations are tasteful and elegant. The room-with-spa was delightful with views of the MIssissippi and the bluffs. Some railroad noise evident at night. Breakfast at Caroline's was excellent--even the background music was enjoyable. All the hotel and restaurant staff helped make the weekend gloriously memorable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstewart2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We were very impressed by our entire visit to the Hotel Julien. The employees were conscientious and pleasant. Our room, a whirlpool room, was spacious, well decorated, and is the equal of any convention hotel that I have used anywhere in the nation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Oh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

My husband's family is in Dubuque and we've tried a number of different hotels over the years. Based on the reviews here, I thought we'd give it a try. We had a great stay. What most impressed me was the size of the room--we had a king with pull-out sofa on the top floor. For once, the room was larger than it had appeared in the pictures. The hotel also had a nice, personable atmosphere while still remaining professional. Our kids loved the room and the hot tub--the pool was a little on the cold side. My 1.5 yr old's teeth were chattering after only a few minutes. The other thing we enjoyed was breakfast at Caroline's. They had a great kids' menu and the food was quite good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Julien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Deluxe King accommodations, the atmosphere of the hotel, and your meals at Caroline's Restaurant. Thank you for the review; we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Dubuque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

We had heard this hotel had just dumped a lot of money into renovations and it showed. It was wonderful - it even smelled new when you walked in despite the fact the hotel is quite historic. Great views of the Mississippi River, close to the casino, located right downtown for walking to great coffee and such - we loved staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Luxurious, comfortable, fine dining, modern but charming, wonderful view. My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Julien with our car club. It was a most pleasant place to stay. It has everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing