We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,796)
Filter reviews
2,796 results
Traveler rating
1,862
549
219
93
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1,862
549
219
93
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caroline's restaurant beautiful hotel riverboat lounge potosa spa al capone aveda products within walking distance main street the river downtown area wedding reception get away diamond jo casino front desk staff staff was friendly pool and hot tub jules
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,796 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was excited to stay at this hotel and drove an extra 40 minutes to experience what I thought was the hotel I viewed in the photos, however this was not the case. The actually sleeping area was fine, although outdated, but the biggest issue was the bathroom. I was not looking forward to using the bathroom, if reminded me of a locker room...dark, dated and dingy.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces53570390484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff. The hotel was very clean. It was nice to be within walking distance of a variety things to do. I will totally recommend to family and friends. It is great they have the restaurant, shop, and spa all in the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Discover18859983396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm H, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Traveler,

Thank you for the five star score!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

While we only stayed for one night the hotel was located within walking distance to most of the restaurants and other areas of interest. Not sure we would stay longer, as the price range was a bit on the high end of pricings. overall though, it was a nice hotel for a one night stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm H, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Traveler,

Thank you for the five star score!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We visited over Mother's Day Weekend. This was also a popular weekend for weddings as there was one hosted on the property. It was loud. Deafening actually. People were very excited and seriously hollering through the lobby. The set up of the entertaining area area above the lobby carried the noise even after the stampede of drunk, screaming people went upstairs to celebrate. Weddings are a happy event and everyone was enjoying themselves at top volume. Lovely lobby but not possible to sit and enjoy the space. Staff seemed overwhelmed and unable to manage the party crowd. The rooms were clean and everything about the room was perfectly acceptable. I had concerns the wedding guests would continue the party in their rooms. If they did, they were no where near where we stayed. Quiet night in the hotel room without disturbances. The quirky part of the stay was the guest has no control over the temperature. In order to get a temperature change a call to the front desk was necessary. They were very responsive but this was not at all convenient and difficult to gauge. The property is very well located in the downtown area and we enjoyed our time in Dubuque and the convenient location. I'd consider a stay again but in no way use the restaurants or lobby of the property if there is another out of control wedding underway.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Willing to stay there again in the future. This was a business trip for a Workshop held in the hotel, so it was convenient. It made attending the different sessions very easy and I did not have to travel any where else in town.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tourist02470748267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews