We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time just as good as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Neenah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd time just as good as the first!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had another excellent stay at the Hotel Julien. We recommended it and brought friends with us. The room was perfect and our friends loved the place. Drinks in the hotel bar and on the outside deck made for a pleasant end to our evening. Going back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    422
    162
    78
    50
See reviews for
439
996
64
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I chose Hotel Julien based on the positive reviews here and had fairly high expectations.Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised, both by the quality of the hotel and by all the things to see and do in and around Dubuque.

The hotel is lovely; tastefully decorated, quiet, well-managed, and convenient. I was here with my 12 year old daughter and 7 year old son. The main problem with staying here is they're now spoiled and expect similar quality on future trips (which I can't ordinarily afford).

My kids and I had a great time. We saw eagles on a river excursion, loved the expansive and up-to-date aquarium and museum just across the bridge from the hotel, and were delighted by Eagle Point Park.

The hotel pool is exceptional and includes a very spacious spa/hot tub. Both were uncrowded during out visit during the last week of August (my kids school begins after Labor Day).

The restaurant has a terrific, affordable breakfast, the lounge in the lobby had nice appetizers, live music, and very friendly staff.

Bottom line: if you're visiting Dubuque you should stay here.

Room Tip: Our room faced west. We enjoyed sunset, and view of the historic homes on the bluff. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoobadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have traveled to elegant, upscale hotels in several areas throughout the country. Both the lobby and room at Hotel Julien were pretty and elegant. The room was spacious and mostly clean. We particularly enjoyed the large windows and views of Dubuque. We also enjoyed the historic touches of the hotel, including the old black and white pictures of Dubuque and the old mailbox drop from each floor. However, considering the hotel room with tax was over $300 we expected just a little more. When we opened the drapes on some of the windows, there were a fair amount of cobwebs. One of the blinds by the whirlpool tub did not work so we could not open it. For the price it is always nice to have turn down service just to make the visit just a little more special; this hotel did not. Lastly, while staff were not specifically rude, our interactions with them were "cool" or "indifferent" instead of friendly and attentive. When we pay over $300 a night (in addition to spending a few hundred at the hotel spa) we hope to feel justified in spending the extra money, especially for our special Anniversary. The Hotel Julien fell a little short in this aspect so we were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

When it said "historic" we were nervous. Sometimes that means old and tired looking. Not this place. It has been remodeled and while it still has historic charm, it has the latest in quiet air conditioning, soft beds, walk in showers, thick, soft towels, and a view of the city. The staff is very pleasant. Lovely!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Unfortunately zero stars was not an option. We stayed on our wedding night and payed for our photographers to stay as well. To say we are frustrated with this place is an understatement. The rooms were great, the front desk was friendly, but in the end we're out a few hundred extra dollars and have spent more aggravating time on the phone than I care to recall. Long story short, we were charged (a lot) more than the rate promised. The GM himself said "you went around our backs... you were trying to cheat us out of money" Right, mister. He raised his voice at me. Worst service of my life. A refund for the overcharge would have been nothing to them but the chance to make a customer happy. I'll never be back to use the 200 worth of credit I have from the expired travelzoo vouchers they wouldn't let me use. That's a parting gift, Mr.
GM. I'll be the bigger person.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amh719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear amh719,

The rules governing Travelzoo vouchers are quite specific. Your request to use the vouchers for room types that you did not purchase them for was asking us to violate our contract that we have established with Travelzoo; we will not diminish our integrity to do this.

The numerous communications asking us to bend the rules because "We've already purchased them to use for our photographer's room was asking us to "go behind Travelzoo's back and to cheat them" was my comment; . my apology that there was a misunderstanding.

It is always important in realizing the component's of travel promotions before purchasing from travel promotions companies as Travelzoo, Groupon and Living Social. We have established mutually rewarding relationships with these travel promoters that is built on integrity. Thousands of travelers have stayed at the hotel on vouchers such as yours within the requirements of the program.

At no point did my voice change to the gutter language that your husband used, to which he was respectfully asked if he needed to continue this discussion at a different time.

In closing, you were never denied the use of the vouchers, it was advised that they were only redeemable for the room types purchased, and unfortunately, those room types were all ready reserved during your requested travel dates. In addition, it was stated repeatedly if your travel could not be worked out during the required dates of stay, the expired vouchers become gift certificates for the purchase amounts. If you should decide to not use these for future dates, we recognize your decision. Your purchase will remain between yourself and Travelzoo.

There are clearly two different sides to the story, I leave this up to the court of public opinion to decide.

Congratulations on your wedding to you and your husband.

Sincerely,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for unfortunately just 1 night as it was a stopover in travelling from waterloo to Chicago, and now we wished we had stopped for longer, as it was our favourite hotel in the whole 2 weeks we were in the states (8 hotels in total). it has a lovely older look to the outside and the inside is beautiful. it is very handily located in Dubuque, we just walked out the front door to the next block and you are on the bridge to take you down to the harbour area.
we stayed in a whirlpool bath room which was fantastic, plenty of room, very comfortable bed, good views from the sixth floor, and a large walk in shower as well as the whirlpool bath!
the staff were all very helpful and friendly, and we ate in the restaurant for our evening meal as the food was very well priced, and the food was delicious, and we also had breakfast in the morning, which was nice as well. the only con I can think of is if you are a light sleeper you are close to a main highway and rail line, though this did not bother us.
overall one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we would travel out of our way to come back, and would definitely stop for more than one night next time!

Room Tip: the whirlpool room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Dubuque and stayed the weekend at this lovely restored historical building. We had a special Internet deal and either it was a really fantastic deal or we were unknowingly upgraded to a wonderful corner suite. The accomodstions were excellent with a great view of the river and Port Dubuque. The one downside was that not one staff member we encountered seem particularly friendly...they were almost indifferent. This included front desk and housekeeping staff. Also the hot tub was not very hot so I opted to skip that. The location is very convenient and within walking distance to multiple restaurants and attractions. Carolines, the on site restaurant, is listed as good and reasonably priced on many reviews. The food is excellent and reasonably priced for breakfast and lunch..not so much for dinner although in line with other downtown restaurants. Overall we enjoyed our stay there. Friendly staff would have made this a 5 star review.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing