We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the first this hotel did not disappoint. Easy to find - the large Hotel Julien sign on the roof was hard to miss. Free parking - lot behind the hotel was also easily accessible. Sign in-very efficient. The best parts are the combination of a well done renovation of a historic building and a terrific downtown location where you can park your car and walk to restaurants, night spots and shops. Our room, 423 faced the river - terrible daytime view of roof of bldg. addition with a/c units-etc, but at night it was great with city lights visible to the east. Next time I would beg for a room much, much higher up. There are 8? floors. Restaurant in hotel was just average-food wise, but our server, Anna, was excellent, One question - any ghosts? Table lamp turned off at midnight, was on again at 3:00 a.m. - perhaps it was not turned off completely (had a swivel switch)

Room Tip: go high and east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Beck W,
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Glad that you were able to enjoy the old world charm renovation. Yes, there are 8 floors to the hotel, with guest rooms on floors 3 through 8. The Al Capone Suite is the only guestroom on the 2nd floor of the hotel. The Al Capone Suite features two full sized bedrooms king beds private bathrooms, one includes a whirlpool, full kitchen, dining and living rooms.

It was great to read of your enjoyment of the neighborhood. Great for people watching and just hanging out. Anna will be thrilled to read of your recognizing her service.

Hope to see you soon.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    440
    167
    81
    52
See reviews for
463
1,038
65
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the hotel that Al Capone possibly owned, and definitely stayed at!
Our room was beautiful, there was a large bath with a huge frameless glass shower. Everything was spotless, the mattress was good, and the hotel restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced--not cheap, but not excessive.

Downsides: No valet service, no grab-bars in shower, and no liquid 1/2 and 1/2 in the room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear susanandlarry,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad that you enjoyed the appointed bathroom amenities and guest room.

Caroline's cooks will be most appreciative of your recognizing their service.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We made a reservation on line for Sat., Sep.28, 2013. When we retired to our room about 10pm we found that we were directly above a loud DJ at a wedding reception. We called the front desk to complain and found they could do nothing at that time. In the morning we learned from the person at the front desk that there were several complaints and they could do nothing do resolve our complaint except hand me the GM's business card. I would have thought a hotel of this 'quality' would have a plan in place for dealing with customer's complaints. I guess they do:act polite, stall, and get them out of the hotel. I am still waiting to hear from the manager, although I did get an email asking how my stay was. I would recommend you stay at a Holiday Inn at half the cost staffed with people that can resolve problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear James P,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Hotel Julien Dubque. Our sincere apology for the music that caused a restless night; please know that if we had the ability to move you to another room, we would have in a moment.

The "interior" room types are all located on the 3rd floor of the hotel, thus the reason as to why your room reserved was on that floor. These rooms all feature expanded living spaces with the many amenities of a suite, though are priced at a discount due to the lack of window views.

We value every guests' comments. We grow through caring guests as yourself.

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites Appleton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This Hotel is gorgeous. Very Historic,with lots of character. I stayed here back in the 80's and it was good then, but recently they have put a lot of money into it and if feels brand new. My stay in September was perfect. Great service, and amenities. Jason in the bar was fantastic. And I heard from some of my fellow travelers that the Spa is the best they have ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear cgifford,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Appreciate your noting the transformation that hotel has gone under since your last visit. Jason will be very thankful of your recognizing his service.

We hope to see you again soon. Please don't let another 30 years pass. Jason is waiting patiently to see you again.

Safe travels,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed one night for a 2-day onsite business meeting. Our group of at least a couple hundred met for 2 days in a banquet hall on the 2nd floor, just off of the lobby. Upon check-in, there were 5 people staffed to handle the steady line - they took care of the check-in paperwork - making it a breeze to stop back once your room was ready for the room key. The hall was comfortable, well-kept, audio worked great, ample room for gathering in the hall on breaks. The room was a single queen, very comfortable w/ plenty of pillows. One wall lined with windows - not much to see but great for natural light. I like the Krug coffee-maker w/ easy instructions and sleepy-time tea for pm and green tea for am; in addition to coffee offerings. Classical colors, clean, didn't hear anyone in the hall or from other rooms (5th floor). Easy walking to dining or casino. I forgot my toothbrush and the front desk happily supplied one for me - they also provided buy one-get one drink coupons for the lounge, which was also very nice. I would recommend staying here - not sure about w/ kids. The room has an honor snack basket and fridge - that could cause conflict unless you hide it - and the room didn't offer generous floor space. It felt more applicable towards couples or adults on business. Flat screen TV - ample desk space - and no wall/window unit for heating/cooling (quiet and more consistent via wall thermostat - like at home).

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the river - mine overlooked the highway and rooftop units. I wasn't looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear nekko95,

Our appreciation for the many kind words shared about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It is a pleasure to read of your many positive comments about the group events in the River Room meeting space.

The hotel supplies many complimentary guest amenities that may have been forgotten. We are glad that we had one that you were looking for. Please always ask at the front desk in the future, we want to always be of great service.

Rest assured the little ones are welcome to the hotel, as much as the adults. The hotel is uniquely located amongst some great children activities from the Mississippi River Museum to the Fenelon Escalator to the Five Flags arena for shows, to the water park, and the Riverwalk. Guest room room types include luxury double queen rooms with two queen beds and pull out couch with extra living space to a premier king suite that features a private bedroom for mom and dad with a living room and full kitchen with pull out bed for the little ones. "The premier king suite is an apartment" is a repeated statement guests say that reserve that room type.

We hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels to you and yours!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful property and the investment on recent renovations was money well spent. However, with that said, my family and I recently stayed there on a Saturday night and I really got the impression the hotel was overwhelmed. There was a large wedding the day/evening of our stay and it appears they can accommodate a large wedding group OR regular guests but NOT BOTH. The staff was clearly flustered and obviously are not empowered to make any decisions themselves. I used a gift certificate for my stay and the amount of the GC exceeded my hotel stay by around $30.00. Instead of allowing me to use this towards a restaurant charge, I was told to contact the manager. When I asked if I could contact him at that time, the attendant said "no, he's dealing with something right now and isn't in a good mood."

The following day at breakfast, there had to have been 12 empty tables but we were told that there was a 45 minute wait. When I protested saying that there are all those empty tables, she said that they didn't have enough staff working to properly serve a full restaurant!

One final tip: If you do stay at this hotel and it is a weekend, DEMAND a room that faces the river and not the street. Street facing rooms are serenaded with the continuous thumping of music from the non-associated bar from across the street. The noise continued until 1:15am.

Nice property. People working there need further training or need to be empowered to make decisions outside of a manager who apparently isn't in good moods very often.

Room Tip: Need river view rooms to avoid the incredible noise from the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Our apology for the experience; rest assured the hotel can handle busy days and nights. And does quite often. That said, we are disappointed that you had the experience that you did; our sincerest apology.

I am quite surprised to read your comments on the gift certificate, as the staff handles three different types of gift certificates routinely between the hotel, Caroline's Restaurant, and Potosa Spa.

While there may be open tables in the restaurant, we will not over seat a server in order to simply gain a diner. Each and every diner deserves top notch service. Often restaurants seat and seat and seat patrons to the point that the kitchen and waitstaff provide average or service that fails to create a repeat diner.

The comment about the number of staff available to serve is quite simply the truth. We desire to hire the best of the best that truly care for the patrons of the hotel in every area, whether it is the hotel, spa, banquets, lounge or restaurant. There are times that despite the best hiring, training, and execution, the available work force can be taxed to full capacity. Efforts to soften the wait time include "to go service", complimentary lobby coffee or flavored waters, complimentary local and national newspapers, and comfortable seating in the lobby or restaurant entrance.

As your review is quite disappointing to read, I would very much appreciate a conversation with you, if you have the time. Please call me at the hotel 563.556.4200. We value each and every guests' comments. If you would prefer to email, gm@hoteljuliendubuque.com

Again, my sincere apology for the experience; we want to make this right.

Thank you,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a business trip. Every employee was warm and welcoming. The rooms were beautiful. I had an outstanding view of the river from my room. The rooms and the hotel in general was very clean and inviting. I had the opportunity to spend one afternoon at the spa. Lindsey was very friendly and took good care of me. The meeting room was very nice and had a patio that had outdoor seating. The food in banquets and room service were both outstanding. I would highly recommend staying here for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear NilcoeGM,

Thank you for your many kinds words shared about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Great to read that your business side of your travel married weill with the opportunity to spend some time in Potosa Spa. Lindsey will be thrilled to read of your recognizing her service.

Our appreciation to you and your collegues for allowing the hotel to host your meeting and food services.

Look forward to seeing you again! Business or leisure, your choice, just come visit!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
14.0 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing