We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A charming historic hotel located downtown and close to a few shops and restaurants. Free and convenient parking on the back. Our room was clean and serviced well. Upon check in, we would have benefitted from a quick overview of the hotel and map of the immediate area, as well as recommendations for dining. Check in was a little disappointing but all other inquiries and requests were handled great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ihearttravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ihearttravel09,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    425
    164
    78
    52
See reviews for
447
1,012
64
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We last stayed here years ago, before the remodel, and we wanted to try it again. The location of Hotel Julien is really good. It's easy to get to, it's right downtown and close enough to all of the great things to do in Dubuque.

The Pros:

Location
Customer Service
Spa, pool & fitness rooms
Keurig Coffee In rooms
Parking
Very good onsite restuarant
Lobby area
Room Decor

The Cons:

In Room bottle water is $2
The walls are very thin - if you have neighbors (we did), you will hear every word said.
No Vending Machines on site
No bellmen or valet service

We don't mind paying Chicago Hotel prices to stay in a nice place, but Hotel Julien needs to tweek a few things to justify the expensive rates. Little things like picking up litter outside by the entrance and parking lot, vacuuming the floors on a daily basis, offering bottle water on hot days upon check-in, offering bell service, etc.....

We will try Hotel Julien next time in Dubuque to see if there is any improvements. If not, we may not be able to justify the cost of the rooms and we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Chitown73,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We will owrk on the suggestions that you have offered.

We attempt to reduce the amount of plastic bottles used by offering flavored ice water in the lobby, off from the front desk. My apology that a staff member did not offer that to you during your time in the lobby.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After driving for 14 hours we arrived in Dubuque, tired and hungry. We had never been to Dubuque before and didn't have any reservations. We found a rare gem in the Hotel Julien. This is an historic hotel with an interesting history including ownership by Al Capone back in the 1930's.Today it is a fantastic hotel due to a major renovation a few years ago. Our room was excellent and comfortable. We wished we could have stayed there another night and could have enjoyed more of beautiful Dubuque and its history on the Mississippi River. We had dinner in their restaurant,Caroline, which was very tasty, well served and reasonable priced for a hotel restaurant.All of their staff was helpful and friendly. We will go back again when we have more time.

Room Tip: room 528 was quiet and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJohnFMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ChefJohnMc,,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Now, after your long drive you have found us, we hope to see you again soon!

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Dubuque has much more to offer! Make it a three day stay!

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were a walk in and the staff was very helpful giving options of places to go while the cleaned our room. The hotel is very nice has a big gym and nice restaurant. I would stay here again if I am ever in Dubuque again. Pura Vida

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Saults,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It is a pleasure to read of your recognition of the hotel staff. They work tirelessly hard to be the best in hospitality in the USA.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely hotel enticed by a Travelzoo deal. We had an executive room with a $20.00 voucher for their restaurant, Caroline's. for breakfast we ate at their restaurant to use our voucher. When we received our check, we marked down our room number so it could be applied to our account. This is not exactly an unusual procedure between a hotel and its restaurant.

At checkout time, the front desk knew nothing of our having eaten at Caroline's. since we spent over the $20 we were expecting a charge. When I called this to their attention, it became clear they had No Communication with the restaurant. We didn't want to wait any longer as the checkout process was taking so long, so we asked them to just send us an email with the corrected bill. Needless to say, we were Overcharged the $20, which required several emails to correct.

Lovely hotel but amateurs seem to be running the place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natasha2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear natasha2929,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Our apology for the confusion on the billing; rest assured this is an isolated incident, and not reflective of the hundreds of financial transactions that take place daily throughout the hotel.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic hotel in downtown Dubuque. There is free parking in the carpark across the road. Check in was pleasant, quick and easy. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Caroline's restaurant downstairs is great with reasonable (not cheap) prices for great service and food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear KiwiPatC,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was another wonderful stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! My husband and I stay at the Hotel Julien Dubuque every year on our anniversary as we were married there 4 years ago. The building has been beautifully renovated and has classic charm with modern amenities. The rooms are spacious and the pool and exercise facilities are awesome! The best part of our visit every year is the exceptional service we receive. This year was particularly great with Robbie and Tristan at the front desk welcoming us and giving us great ideas for places to eat (we ended up eating at Caroline's within the Hotel Julien and it was also exceptional in food and service - I will be writing a separate review for that experience). Robbie even made sure our visit to the hotel and restaurant were extra special because it was our anniversary. The view of the Mississippi River, Julien Dubuque Bridge and St. Raphael's Cathedral (where our wedding ceremony took place) from our corner whirlpool suite was simply fantastic! We will definitely continue our tradition of staying here on our anniversary in the future and will recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Tri-State area.

Room Tip: The whirlpool suites are amazing for couples to relax and enjoy. They are also corner rooms which g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear TrishaB,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Reading of your recognition of Robbie is especially pleasing; he will be thrilled to hear of your comments.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
624 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing