We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stay frequently at the Julien Hotel in Dubuque, and I have to show it some love. Its a great hotel on a great location with a wonderful historic building and very nice rooms. Great value for the buck, rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped, beds are comfortable and fluffy. The front desk staff although young, are very friendly and helpful. Jason the bartender at the hotel bar is also a rock star, very friendly and attentive. I have never had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Caroline's) but i have had lunch (chicago style italian beef) which is pretty good, and they have the best breakfast (and very affordable) for less than 6 bucks you can get a massive bacon/3 egg/cheese crossaint sandwhich that will do you good. Also my favorite, the Eggs Benny (benedict) are amazing.. hands down the best i have ever had, be sure to try them.

There are tons of other eating places around the hotel on the same street. some of my fav are: Crust (right across the street) order the italian beef or a pizza. Vinny Vanuchi's homestyle italian garden with awesome salad and food. Lot 1 which is more of a bar and burger joint, but they do have some big ol' monster burgers which are delicious and cheap. good place to have a beer and a quick bite.

Overall this hotel provides excellent atmosphere, services and location. DO NOT get the interior room for it has no windows (besides a small sky light on the ceiling).. this room makes you feel like you are inside a nut house. Avoid rooms that face the street, from thurs until sunday and even in between the loud and drunk prevail due to the many bars all over that street. Traffic noise is also a mother.. The rest of the rooms are awesome.. on the 2nd floor of the main lobby they have the "al capone" room, where he used to stay, it features the same historic decour and a huge metal safe that he used.. they do offer tours,so ask to see it if you can.

Room Tip: "Avoid city view rooms, very noisy" "Avoid Interior Rooms, they have no windows, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Freddy V,

Thank you for the many positive comments regarding your stays at Hotel Julien Dubuque and the surrounding neighborhood. I am sure that Vinny's, The Crust and Lot One are thrilled to read of your comments.

We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently celebrated our son's wedding at the Hotel Julien. From our first meeting almost a year ago with Angie, the wedding coordinator, until the actual event on April 20, we have been well pleased. We were able to have both the wedding and reception at this venue, and all exceeded our expectations. This was capped off with a large breakfast before all the guests left. The food was excellent and service from all staff was professional and pleasant. I am so pleased that we chose this site and will go back to this beautiful hotel the next time we stay in Dubuque.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Mary H,

Congratulations! It is a pleasure to read of your celebration and experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It is an honor to be able to be part of the bidial couple's first day together.

Thank you for allowing us to share in your special day!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We celebrated my boyfriends birthday by renting the Al Capone suite with another couple. The room was beautiful and well appointed. Having a latedinner reservation at a near by restaurant, we called room service at 4:30pm and ordered a meat and cheese tray for 4 people. At 5:30pm we called to see the status of our order and told they would get right on it. At 6:45pm we called again and just cancelled our order. Very dissappointed by lack of service, we contacted the General Manager with in 3 days of our stay and his attitude was basically " oh well"

Room Tip: Al Capone suite is very lovely but not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Viva B,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. My apology for the service in regards to the food order; there is no reason that the food service should have taken that long.

In reviewing the recent celebrations in the Capone Suite, it appears that possibly your stay ocurred in March; the reason for research is because I do not recall speaking with any guest about a refreshment tray not being provided. I welcome a discussion with you, as we never want a guest to leave with a negative experience. Please contact me directly at 563.556.4200 Ext. 5561 if you wish.

Again, my sincere apology for the experience and a Belated Happy Birthday to your boyfriend.

Thank you,

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I love to see unique architecture that has been preserved. They did a wonderful job keeping the historic qualities of this hotel while making some modern updates. The rooms are amazing—very spacious and comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub was a nice treat. Caroline's restaurant was better than I expected, lots of good menu items to choose from. The staff we encountered at the front desk was a little young and inexperienced, but friendly nevertheless. Would definitely stay again if I were back in Dubuque.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear hymay,

Thank you so very much for the many kind words expressed about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next stay!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Julien for two nights. We could not have had a more

pleasant and fun experience. We were greeted by Keith at the front desk and he was friendly and truly made us feel special. The lobby of the hotel is elegant but at the same time warm and welcoming. All of the areas that we were using were immaculate including our room. We wanted to go to a specific restaurant but it was prom and very busy. Sara Johnson(front office manager)was extremely helpful and managed to get us a reservation and later even sent a gift to our room and took a picture of us in the lobby. We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family. You will not be disappointed. The restaurant Caroline's was also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalelyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear dalelyn a,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. It was a pleasure for us to celebrate your anniversary with you! Sara was quite touched to read of your recognizing of her service.

Don't let a year go by before we see you again!

Safe travels!

Looking forward to your next stay!

Team Hotel Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel on a Sat & Sun w/ my girlfriends. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The property, pool area and spa has been recently beautifully restored. Didn't have enough time to try the spa but it looks fantastic. Carolines restaurant was delicious! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear LauraSteg,

That's awfully kind of you! We are glad to have been part of your girlfriend's getaway for the weekend! Be sure to come back to enjoy the Potosa Spa next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubueque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Only place to stay in town. Have never been disappointed. Great price for a quality hotel. Spa was a great way to relax. Hotel staff is always friendly and go above and beyond whether its directions ,places to eat or just a simple thing as requesting silverware to eat dessert you brought back to hotel.

Room Tip: Request outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronniengary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Ronniengary,

WOW!

Thank you so very much for the many kind words expressed about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. The staff will be very excited to read of your recognizing their efforts.
Each and every one of them work extremely hard to provide the best in Midwestern hospitality.

We look forward to your next stay!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#7 of 17 in Dubuque
331 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing