We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary stay / Jim & Lynn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary stay / Jim & Lynn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Julien for two nights. We could not have had a more

pleasant and fun experience. We were greeted by Keith at the front desk and he was friendly and truly made us feel special. The lobby of the hotel is elegant but at the same time warm and welcoming. All of the areas that we were using were immaculate including our room. We wanted to go to a specific restaurant but it was prom and very busy. Sara Johnson(front office manager)was extremely helpful and managed to get us a reservation and later even sent a gift to our room and took a picture of us in the lobby. We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family. You will not be disappointed. The restaurant Caroline's was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalelyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear dalelyn a,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. It was a pleasure for us to celebrate your anniversary with you! Sara was quite touched to read of your recognizing of her service.

Don't let a year go by before we see you again!

Safe travels!

Looking forward to your next stay!

Team Hotel Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    402
    154
    75
    48
See reviews for
417
952
62
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel on a Sat & Sun w/ my girlfriends. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The property, pool area and spa has been recently beautifully restored. Didn't have enough time to try the spa but it looks fantastic. Carolines restaurant was delicious! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear LauraSteg,

That's awfully kind of you! We are glad to have been part of your girlfriend's getaway for the weekend! Be sure to come back to enjoy the Potosa Spa next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubueque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Only place to stay in town. Have never been disappointed. Great price for a quality hotel. Spa was a great way to relax. Hotel staff is always friendly and go above and beyond whether its directions ,places to eat or just a simple thing as requesting silverware to eat dessert you brought back to hotel.

Room Tip: Request outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronniengary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ronniengary,

WOW!

Thank you so very much for the many kind words expressed about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. The staff will be very excited to read of your recognizing their efforts.
Each and every one of them work extremely hard to provide the best in Midwestern hospitality.

We look forward to your next stay!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is simply lovely. Its very old world yet revamped into a luxurious beautiful hotel. Pool and hot tub are simply davine. Service is upper level quality. Prices are reasonable and it is located downtown. Not a far drive to galena.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagobread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear chicagobread,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visits to Hotel Julien Dubuque. We love to hear of guests that are repeat travelers to the area.

The staff work extremely hard every day to ensure the best in hospitality in the Midwest. They will be thrilled to read of your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Team Hotel Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Julien for several days during a work conference. Overall the hotel is very nice, clean, and updated. The location is ideal for walking to local bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again, either for work or personal travel. Most of the food was very good. I do think the conference made some bad choices and didn't have enough healthy food available, which jades my view of the food, but this is not the fault of the hotel.

The bad was that the conference rooms were freezing. We used several rooms for our conference and they were all ice cold. And I didn't feel any improvement after asking staff to increase the temperature. Not ideal to have to go to your room and get a hoodie to put on over your business clothes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CV724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear CV724,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the guest rooms and public areas.

My sincere apology for the chilly meeting rooms spaces; rest assured this was an isolated incident. The hotel was renovated less than four years ago. The renovation inlcuded the installation of the most up to date and green energy friendly heating and ventilation system, unfortunately, it comes down to human error sometimes. Your comments will be shared with the team to ensure that this never repeats itself.

We would be interested in hearing as to which conference it was that you attended. If you would be so kind, please contact me 563.556.4200 ext. 5561.

Thank you.

Dwight Hopfauf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I found this hotel on Yelp (sorry Trip Advisor) and I won't stay anywhere else in Dubuque, now that I've found it. Hotel Julian pulls off something that is incredibly hard to pull off: historic charm meets modern amenities. I will visit a charming, old hotel ONCE before I become annoyed with the creeky floors, lumpy mattress, and small bathrooms. After that, I'm done. Not the case at the Hotel Julian, I get the charm of the historic hotel and I have everything I need to function as a business traverler (good wifi, business center, awesome restaurant attached...see below).

Part of the challenge of traveling to conduct business, is finding somewhere good to eat in a city that your're not entirely familliar with. The beauty of Hotel Julian is that the attached restaurant, Caroline's, is a fantastic. As a business traveler, I often eat alone at the bar. Kory, the bartender, couldn't be more a more accomodatin host. He is knowledgable about the wine list and the menu, which is nice because I often ask for recommendations. Who knows what to order better than good staff?? I've stayed here 3 times now, taken 3 recommendations from Kory, and had 3 great meals. Thanks Kory!

The bottom line is, if you're thinking about staying here...do it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JohnSDSM,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque!

It is always a pleasure to read of the enjoyment of our guests.

We look forward to your next stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque!

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here about every other month. I travel to a lot of hotels and always feel most relaxed at this one. Love the downtown location, the old building but luxurious new amenities and the space in even their standard rooms. Their bathrooms are beautiful and spacious. Everything is always extremely clean and they offer several extras you don't get everywhere else: fluffy white robes to wear, Aveda products in the bathrooms, Keurig personal coffee makers, nice hair dryers and wine & beer in the room for purchase. The bedding and pillows are so comfy! You're greeted with a local favorite (this time a bag of gourmet popcorn) and can dine-in or order room service from Caroline's, whose food is always top notch. Pool and spa on site. Have never been disappointed here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou53077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Bijou53077,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque!

It is always a pleasure to read of the enjoyment of our guests.

We look forward to your next stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque!

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing