We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is attractive with very comfortable rooms. The double queen room is spacious with a comfortable reading chaise and good lighting. The bathroom was spacious as well with large, luxurious towels. Aveda soap and shampoo and excellent water pressure. The entire room was spotless and looked new and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area is also attractive with comfortable chairs. There are windows on one side which makes the area bright unlike some hotel pools that are dark and uninviting. Breakfast at Caroline's was good but not outstanding. Friendly and quick service. Overall this is a great hotel and my hotel choice when in Dubuque.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Paige2470,


Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    447
    169
    81
    53
See reviews for
479
1,061
66
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband I stayed here for a mid week getaway, and we were very happy with our choice. Spotless room, comfortable beds, friendly staff, beautiful lobby, nice breakfast at Caroline's. Parking is free, and in nice weather, you could probably walk to the Mississippi River Museum. Historic hotel with a very nice recent update. Hotel is close to the river, and train tracks that run along the edge. We did hear some trains, but I grew up with that sound and don't find it bothersome. In the summer, there are steamboat rides nearby. Fridge and coffee pot in the room, nice walk in shower. The pool was small, but very clean, as was the exercise room. We booked this with a very reasonable AAA rate.

Room Tip: We asked for a river view when we made reservations, and we got it, no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear franny60,


Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Julien, first wknd of March. Wife and I had a very relaxing weekend there. The Hotel is very cool, one of the first things that caught my eye (other than the Grand Foyer) was the old mail slots by the elevator. I can recall these when my dad worked in a gvmnt building MANY years ago! Had a queen suite on 8th floor, awsum room, large rooms very roomy bathroom w/walk-in shower, and real nice living room, w/fridge and snacks avalible. The bed(s) were very comfy, and was a real treat to sleep in, VERY quiet room! Sat, drove around Dubuque and over to Galena. When got back there was a wedding going on, so parking was a little iffy, (not a big issue). Walked around sat night, hit a couple local establishments, and ended at hotel bar, wedding party was having a good time! Hit Carolines for breakfast, both mornings, and was very satisfied, great service and food. All-in-all, we will definatly return to the Hotel Julien

Room Tip: Get room on higher floor, dont think it matters if city side or river side, quiet rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwdinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Iwdinia,


Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel has been refurbished to it's original charm with modern amenities. I stayed an extra night due to a snow storm. When I went for breakfast at Caroline's, there was one other couple there. That said, food at Caroline's was excellent.

I had the executive suite, so I had a separate bedroom, living room and small kitchen. I only used the microwave and refrigerator in the kitchen, but it did the trick for cooking some meals when I didn't want to leave hotel in snowstorm.

Bed was clean and comfy. Bathroom very clean and love the walk in shower. Liked the way I was in my own efficiency apartment for two days during a snowstorm.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, my room overlooked the Julien Bridge and I could hear trains. However, I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear TravelingDays,


Thank you for such a great review of Hotel Julien Dubuque! It was our good luck for a snow storm that you were able to stay another day to enjoy the suite. We hope that the storm did not disrupt other events planned for your trip.

It is a pleasure to read of your comments on Caroline's Restaurant. Glad that you enjoyed your dining experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tons of old world charm - but totally updated amenities. Room was gorgeous, nicely equipped with a bottle of wine, beverages in the fridge, and a modern coffee maker. Bed was super comfortable. Bar area was equally enjoyable, as was the hotel's restaurant. We live a little over an hour away, so this was a great week end get-away, with places of interest or shopping that you can walk to. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: There was some street noise, as we stayed on a Saturday night - so booking a higher floor number roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear JulienB1957,


Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Appreciate your recognizing the new and the old.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is a landmark for Dubuque. It is absolutely beautiful inside and the staff is very friendly. We were there for a private get together so didn't see any of the hotel rooms, but a friend stayed and said it was beautiful! Heather @ the bar was great too - excellent service!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel2004Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Luv2Travel2004Iowa,



Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Il
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice stay, just don't understand any hotel booking a wedding party and adding general public among them. Nothing screams fun like some drunk muppet trying to get in your room at midnight. Wife and I really liked the room and bed was comfortable. Bar on Saturday night was great entertainment just people watching. BTW if someone from the hotel actually reads this, why don't you give the coupon for the free wine at Carolines at check, not check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workinonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear workinonit.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Your question about the wedding guests amongst the other travelers is due to the room types requested by the varying guests of a hotel. Some room types are not available on all floors, so that may dictate where people decide to rest.

Also, are the factors that traveling guests do often request for other members of their traveling party to be closer together due to plans made during their stay whether it may be babysitting needs, events to attend, or simply easier to gather everyone up when there is a need. Unfortunately, there are times where a group is traveling due to a family medical need and/or death, so the real need to have connecting rooms or being close is comforting for those dealing with unfortunate circumstances.

Our apology that the behavior of others dampered the enjoyment of your stay for your wife and you; rest assured that when concerns are advised to the hotel front desk, we immediately review the concern, as each guest in the hotel is as important as the next. All deserve a restful and enjoyable stay.

Our gift of wine is a thank you for staying with us. This check out gift varies from time to time, as a wine service, or discount on future stay, or voucher for a show in town, to money off in the spa. We sincerely hope that we will see you again in the near future to take advantage of our offer.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,


The Stall and Management of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing