We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay in beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel has been refurbished to it's original charm with modern amenities. I stayed an extra night due to a snow storm. When I went for breakfast at Caroline's, there was one other couple there. That said, food at Caroline's was excellent.

I had the executive suite, so I had a separate bedroom, living room and small kitchen. I only used the microwave and refrigerator in the kitchen, but it did the trick for cooking some meals when I didn't want to leave hotel in snowstorm.

Bed was clean and comfy. Bathroom very clean and love the walk in shower. Liked the way I was in my own efficiency apartment for two days during a snowstorm.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, my room overlooked the Julien Bridge and I could hear trains. However, I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear TravelingDays,


Thank you for such a great review of Hotel Julien Dubuque! It was our good luck for a snow storm that you were able to stay another day to enjoy the suite. We hope that the storm did not disrupt other events planned for your trip.

It is a pleasure to read of your comments on Caroline's Restaurant. Glad that you enjoyed your dining experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,156 - 2,162 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tons of old world charm - but totally updated amenities. Room was gorgeous, nicely equipped with a bottle of wine, beverages in the fridge, and a modern coffee maker. Bed was super comfortable. Bar area was equally enjoyable, as was the hotel's restaurant. We live a little over an hour away, so this was a great week end get-away, with places of interest or shopping that you can walk to. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: There was some street noise, as we stayed on a Saturday night - so booking a higher floor number roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear JulienB1957,


Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Appreciate your recognizing the new and the old.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is a landmark for Dubuque. It is absolutely beautiful inside and the staff is very friendly. We were there for a private get together so didn't see any of the hotel rooms, but a friend stayed and said it was beautiful! Heather @ the bar was great too - excellent service!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel2004Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Luv2Travel2004Iowa,



Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your time at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice stay, just don't understand any hotel booking a wedding party and adding general public among them. Nothing screams fun like some drunk muppet trying to get in your room at midnight. Wife and I really liked the room and bed was comfortable. Bar on Saturday night was great entertainment just people watching. BTW if someone from the hotel actually reads this, why don't you give the coupon for the free wine at Carolines at check, not check out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workinonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear workinonit.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Your question about the wedding guests amongst the other travelers is due to the room types requested by the varying guests of a hotel. Some room types are not available on all floors, so that may dictate where people decide to rest.

Also, are the factors that traveling guests do often request for other members of their traveling party to be closer together due to plans made during their stay whether it may be babysitting needs, events to attend, or simply easier to gather everyone up when there is a need. Unfortunately, there are times where a group is traveling due to a family medical need and/or death, so the real need to have connecting rooms or being close is comforting for those dealing with unfortunate circumstances.

Our apology that the behavior of others dampered the enjoyment of your stay for your wife and you; rest assured that when concerns are advised to the hotel front desk, we immediately review the concern, as each guest in the hotel is as important as the next. All deserve a restful and enjoyable stay.

Our gift of wine is a thank you for staying with us. This check out gift varies from time to time, as a wine service, or discount on future stay, or voucher for a show in town, to money off in the spa. We sincerely hope that we will see you again in the near future to take advantage of our offer.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,


The Stall and Management of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed four days at the Julien. This is an excellent hotel. 1, The rooms were beautiful and very clean. 2. The entire staff (front desk to restaurant) were friendly and provided exceptional service. 3. The restaurant had very good food and a reasonable price. Try the seared tuna. The whole wait staff like Diane and Kim we riendly and attentive. 4.. The botique had very nice shoes and things. Again the staffr was super. 5. The pool and hot tub wee very clean and the right temperature.

This all made for an ezcellent stay.

Room Tip: ou can't miss here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeythek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mikeythek,


W O W! Thank you for such a great review of the staff, service, and appointments of Hotel Julien Dubuque!

It is great to read of your comments on Diane, as she is one of the newest staff members hired in Caroline's Restaurant. She will be thrilled to read of your remarks.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a very beautiful queen luxury suite. The decor, the bathroom/ shower area, the food, everything was fabulous. The pool was enjoyable as well. Didn't use the fitness area but it looked welcoming!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dls1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Dls1099,

Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your to Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have had a couple of stays at the Hotel Julien in Dubuque. A nice boutique hotel in downtown Dubuque. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance; minimal shopping and front door shuttle to the river front casino. Overall the stay was very good; attentive staff in Carolines restaurant and decent food at reasonable prices. The only downside was the towels. The bathsize towels were rough as sand paper; a little softening would help. Did not use the services of the spa but looked to be convenient and competively priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Shirley V,

Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding your return visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad you were able to enjoy the neighborhood around the hote, lots to do within moments of the front door.

We look forward to your next visit.

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
12.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing