We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time charm....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A beautiful place to stay in a great location. Very nicely remodeled throughout. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the delicious complimentary gourmet kettle corn at the front desk each day was a definite treat. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was also a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with an adjoining room door. Not at all sound proof. We could hear the couple i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smlbkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear smlbkl,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Hotel Julien. Appreciate your kind words about the popcorn and personal Kuerig coffee makers.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

The Staff at Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Julien Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,004 - 2,010 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Decided to stay here for our anniversary instead of a B&B and it was nice but will probably opt back to the service of a bed and breakfast next time. The staff was friendly upon check in. The room we opted for stated river view which was kind of a stretch. It was more like a rooftop, other side of the hotel, the river is over that way view so we would not recommend paying the extra for that. The room was very clean and comfortable. We set out to explore as soon as we dropped our bags in the room. When we got back it was around 9:30 and we noticed there were a couple of lights out in the room, a lamp by the bed that would not stay on and the alarm clock was not working. We called the front desk and asked them to fix it the next day since it was late and we were staying through. They said they were very sorry and would have it taken care of. The next day we showered, hung the towels that we did not want replaced and took off for the day. We returned late in the evening again to find that nothing had been fixed, none of the linens that were left on the floor were replaced and the coffee condiments were not replaced either. We walked down and got the condiments from the front desk but as it was late again we passed on having maintenance come to our room to fix the lights. The hotel really is nice but just not "special". Also worth mentioning would be where the parking is in relation to room access. Not very convenient and there was no bellhop to help with bags. From the parking lot you must go in and up an elevator to get to the main desk. Then up another elevator to your room. Really not a big deal but different from other higher end hotels. Internet worked well and there is no log in required. Pool area looked nice.

Room Tip: Probably good for business travelers. Opt out of "river view" up charge. Good internet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear winocpl,

My sincere apology for your less than acceptable experience when recently staying at Hotel Julien Dubuqe; I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss in further detail. If wish please contact me directly to discuss your concern at 563.588.5561, Dwight Hopfauf, GM.

We appreciate your positive comments that you shared, along with the ones that reflect our areas to improve.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Hotel Julien in downtown Dubuque. It's a beautiful hotel. I really admire how it was remodeled, nice blend of history which gives it a sense of permanence and stability. We were in town for a show of photographs of Dubuque in 1912 and we thought they would look great on the hallway walls. We found the room nice with lots of storage and the bathroom was well-appointed. The interior of the hotel was really quiet even though there was a wedding reception going on. Nice solid construction! We didn't have time to take in the spa but would like to go back when we can enjoy that as well. We ate breakfast at Caroline's. The food was really tasty and the service good.

Room Tip: We had a room on the Main Street side and my husband heard the bars close. I slept right through it...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the hotel and the review of the workmanship in reconstucting the hotel to her gorgeous days of the past. Many different areas of the hotel reflect amenities that were repurposed and restored.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Staff At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here to attend a company holiday party that was held here. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very elegantly decorated. We were a little disappointed in the size of our room. Our closet which held the ironing board and robes was about 12 inches in width and we found it necessary to hang our clothes in the bathroom. There were no dressers to put anything in. If the opportunity should arise, I would love to stay here again, but would request a suite. As for the party, it was very nice. The food was good. The only downside would be that there was an hour wait for our main course after the salad was served.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Muktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Muktown,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We appreciate reading of your comments.

Our apology for the delay in the service of the banquet dinner; rest assured this was an isolated incident.

We look forward to your next visit when in the Dubuque area.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent the weekend at the Hotel Julien (with my girlfriends) for some relaxation and fun. I will definitely be going back again. Our suite was beautiful, spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We also enjoyed spending time at the wonderful Potosa Spa which is conveniently located right inside the hotel. After we finished with our amazing spa services, we simply took the elevator back to our room. No messing around with going outside in the cold! We are already trying to pick a date for our next get away to the Hotel Julien! Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Michelle R,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your girl friends getaway.

Potosa Spa is the perfect Girls Getaway Place to be when staying at Hotel Julien Dubuque.


Hope to see you soon!

The Staff At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Hotel Julien for a mini getaway weekend. It has been beautifully redecorated and our luxury suite was wonderful! The room as spacious and decorated so nicely. The bathroom was completely updated. We also spent some time at the Potosa Spa, what a treat! This beautiful hotel made our time together that much more special. We look forward to our next girls getaway and would definitely make the Hotel Julien our destination once again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Kris L,

Thank you for the kind words expressed about your girl friends getaway. Everyone needs one! It is always fun to connect with friends to simply just hang out! Potosa Spa adds such a special time for women to reconnect and to be pampered! So glad to read of your enjoyment!

Hope to see you soon!

The Staff At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway for our anniversary and went to TripAdvisor and read all of the rave reviews about this hotel and decided that this would be our destination. The hotel is beautiful and the convenience of being able to walk to everything in the downtown area was wonderful. They offer a shuttle service to the casino which is very convenient even though we didn't use the service. The views from our room were beautiful but we faced the main street on one side and could hear all of the noise from the bars across the street.
We stayed in the whirlpool suite at full price for two nights. After the first night we realized the walls were paper thin since we could hear the person in the room next to us sneezing and requested a room change but since they had a Groupon deal going on there weren't any rooms available. The person at the front desk had a “take it or leave it” attitude. No apologies were made. Online it is stated that there is a snack basket and an honor bar - the snack basket cost was 2.00 a snack. The honor bar was one bottle of wine. The coffee bar had two wine glasses on it, two coffee cups, a bottle of wine, a basket of creamers and sugars which were cramped on a shelf so small that I had to remove most of the items to get the coffee maker out to add water (picture attached) There was a set of blinds which let morning light pour in making it difficult to sleep in and a row of curtains behind our bed which I had to stand on our bed to close.
I have stayed in numerous high end hotels and the looks of this hotel is beautiful but I feel this piece of property is overpriced. Other hotels in this price range have greeted us with a cheese and fruit tray with a full bottle of wine for our visit and at this hotel you have to pay for a package of M&M's?
I have also read recent reviews and I am asking how a person can rate a hotel highly when they also mention that they couldn’t sleep because of all the noise. Wear earplugs and pay over 200.00 a night for a stay?
No need for the condescending apology that I have noted on the review site of this hotel….”
“Our sincere apology for the room conditions that you mentioned; rest assured this is an isolated incident, and not reflective of the thousands of travelers that stay at Hotel Juiein Dubuque. We look forward to your next visit.. Oh, and yes, I did voice a complaint to the help at the desk before I left when we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryNewLenox_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear MaryNewLenox_IL,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Our apology for the inability to move your room; all whirpool suites are located in the same corner location that yours was. These placements were to allow for the expanded room size and for having windows on two sides of the suite for exterior views.

Each overnight guest is to receive a welcome amenity at check-in. This gift is a locally produced product of Dubuque. At present, we are giving chocolates from the STAM chocolatier from just across the street. We have given specialty popcorn from Freddie's Specialty Popcorn, a short walk outside the front door of the hotel. Soon, we will be giving candies from the nuns of the Lady of Mississippi Abbey. These candies are hand made by the nuns. In addition, our culinary team has prepared welcome amenites for many travelers. Complimentary bottled water and apples are available in the fitness center. Your comments regarding the snack basket will be discussed, as there is not any intention of our marketing to infer that the refreshments in the guest rooms are complimentary, other than the coffee service. Many guests are thrilled to see the individual Kuerig makers with the unlimited coffee, hot chocolate, and tea pods.

We appreciate your kind comments about the neighbor offering close enough to walk to attractions and activities.

Safe travels to you and yours.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $89 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing