We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Julien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Recently, we stayed one evening at the Hotel Julien. I was very impressed with the renovation conducted at this hotel. I wished we could have stayed longer, but the hotel was completely booked the following evening. The room was gorgeous, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom and shower were wonderful and included complimentary Aveda products!
The hotel staff, was very accomodating and knowledgeable of the area and hotel ammenties. I was especially impressed by one of your staff members, Madde. She was very courteous and helpful. She went the extra mile for us at our stay and suggested many activities to enjoy in the area. Also, she was very helpful in her recommendations of spa services, including the Bliss Facial, which I personally will never forget! The pool and whirlpool are very beautiful and the perfect size for all to enjoy.
Thanks so much Hotel Julien for an incredible stay. It's truly the best hotel in the Dubuque Area. It was a very memorable stay!

Room Tip: Diamond Jo club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretchenSteines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,222 - 2,228 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff's services was very friendly and helpful. We had split our trip into to hotel selections - one for parents, one for kids at a nearby water park hotel. After spending one day at the other hotel, we cancelled and came back to the Julien for the remainder of the stay.

The front desk as extremely accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Reserved 2 rooms and when I got home found out I had been overcharged by over $200. Called the hotel and they indicated they could not help me. Even though I had been given a rate of $118 they charged me close to $200/night. NOT worth that amount! Isnt this called bait and switch???

1) Stayed 3 nights and each afternoon and night a large wedding reception took place. The hotel is not big enough to be both a hotel and a wedding venue. The wedding guests were always in the lobby area and the open atrium/balcony making these areas unavailable for hotel guests. Very noisy and the 2 SMALL OLD elevators were always full and slow.

2) Our rooms faced Main Street which has several bars that the "young" crowds frequent. This includes the large bar in the hotel which again adds to the noise and congestion in the lobby and atrium/balcony area. From about 1-2:30 am forget about sleeping! All you hear are people talking and screaming and loud music.

3) I could repeat verbatim the conversations I heard in the rooms next to ours due to the thin walls. I hope the guy found his white socks and the screaming baby sleeps better at home.

4) Parking can be difficult at night due to bar patrons in the area. Also, very difficult to get your luggage from parking lot to room. Have to take 2 different elevators in different parts of lobby, no valets.

5) For $200/night I would expect a small microwave and some room in the tiny refrigerator ( full of their wine, beer).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I were impressed with the lovely rooms, new with an old fashioned flair. The staff was exceptionall nice and helpful. The reservationist went out of her way to make our stay even better, her name was Madilyn. Special thanks to her.

This very old hotel which was completely remodeled lived up to its hype. It still held the aura of the old "Al Capone" days who used to stay there frequently, and was decorated in modern classy

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadydidnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Lovely hotel with really helpful reception staff who helped us find out about paddle steamers on the mississippi, Beautiful lobby - something to do with Al Capone too apparently and definitely had the 1920's style. V comfy bed and great big shower. Would have loved to try the swimming pool too which looked great. Loved the town with some lovely sights and restaurants, esp the art history museum.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceR006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed at the Julien 6/2011 for a wedding. Rooms were clean but only average in size. At a cost of $150/night (after discounts) I expected much more. Front desk was poorly trained. Rooms were clean, stairwells looked shabby with torn out carpeting. Parking was slightly difficult on a Saturday night stay. They do have a lounge, expect to pay about $6 a drink. The hotel also offered a DJ for the younger crowd and locals. Essentially, it is an older hotel that has been renovated, but costs about twice that of a comparable hotel. Nothing unusual except its longevity.

Room Tip: higher up for the best view of Dubuque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawkhunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Julien for one night recently and were very pleased with the experience. Our large room (a standard king) had four big windows looking out to the Mississippi River. Everything still seemed fresh from the remodel. The room was very quiet, which combined with a cozy bed made for a good night's sleep. Even the bathroom had a big window, which was a nice change from most hotels. Even better, one of the best restaurants in Dubuque, Pepper Sprout, is located just one block away. We did have to dodge a very large and loud wedding party in the main lobby, but otherwise our stay was relaxing. Brunch at Caroline's was good, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamboss68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
328 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $82 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing