We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
A TripAdvisor Member
Coralville, IA
12
Reviewed December 30, 2005

Our non-smoking room smelled like smoke, as did the lobby, despite being on a non-smoking floor. We had constant noise with people partying in their rooms with the door open and kids running up and down the hallway. When we wanted to switch rooms to avoid this, we were told by the person at the front desk that we would have to come back after an hour when another person could help. She said that the noise we encountered was nothing compared with the night before and that we would be better off staying in a smoking room if that was available. She also told me people might be smoking in the hallway. It sounded like a high schooler was manning the front desk. The next day, we found our room not made up and the housekeeping staff finally knocked on our door after 5PM. By that time, we were resting in our room and declined having it cleaned. The parking is inconvenient and the pool is tiny. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The service is terrible. I've stayed in numerour hotels, and this ranks as one of the worst for service.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2004

Stayed here Spring 2004 for a Sunday night. Got a $90 rate for a Jacuzzi room at ichotels. Staff was polite to us, but we witnessed the desk clerk being quite rude to a gentleman who had no reservation asking for better than the rack rate. Had stayed here before for Loras graduation, and had a pleasant experience then, too. Pool area seemed a bit small on graduation weekend, when there were a gazillion kids in it. Good location in downtown Dubuque with decent views. Walking distance to some restaurants. Parking deck underneath the hotel. Galena hotels seem to be overpriced - was glad to find a decent rate here.

10  Thank Maubstezuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeySD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IrishAtHeart85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEGOCIOSALVUELO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,403 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
690 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $85 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing