We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just last night, but we had such a good experience I had to rate it right away. Check in was fast, friendly and I was impressed with the lobby. The hotel is newly renovated and has a nice boutique hotel feel to it. We snagged a parking spot on the top level of the parking garage right outside the door which was great. Elevator was pretty slow, but still better than taking stairs to the 5th floor. The room was clean, smelled fresh and was great. King size bed with a sofa bed. Bathroom was also clean and had a boutique style decor to it. Comfortable bed. The restaurant attached has delicious food and our server, Jason, was great! Funny and accommodating. The pool was small, very small, but we hadn't planned on using it anyway. All in all, a great stay at a great hotel! Loved it and would recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChcgoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you, ChcgoGirl, for the great 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel, with its upscale feel, and our excellent staff. We will share your kind comments with Jason; he really is great! We appreciate your excellent review of your entire hotel experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    129
    64
    25
    11
See reviews for
77
82
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is in a very nice location on Main Street where there are several nice restaurants to choose from.
If I came back here I would not stay here again. The lobby is very nice with a restaurant and bar that I have not tried yet due to the fact that we chose to go to a couple nice restaurants 1/2 block away.
The rooms are clean and they look remodeled: newer carpet, painted walls and flatscreen TV, nice lounge chair. Bathroom shower stalls look new as does the bathroom vanity.
Would I stay here again? NO..
Here's why. The first room they put us in, had one little window (I should say one single window) that looked at a brick wall, so I asked to be moved. The other room we moved into also, same single window but this time very dirty and the windows cannot be opened either. Because of the single window placement, being dirty and not opening up I was very claustrophobic. I asked that the window be opened which would have been easy to do (a little bolt) but was told they weren't allowed to be opened. Some screens and windows being able to be opened would have been nice.
The other thing that we didn't like was that you had to take the elevator to get outside to our car. The exit door closest to us was only to be used for emergency exit only. I like to be able to have the choice of using the exit doors if needed and not have to take the elevator. I hate to be negative but the last thing unfortunately was that the beds were pretty soft and my back ached as I woke up.
Again, the rooms are clean and I love the area but if I come back, I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an outside, high up room with clean window and non brick facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you, Anne J, for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate guest comments, as it lets us know what we're doing right and what we can improve. We are glad you liked our clean, comfortable hotel, with its convenient downtown location. We have recently undergone a major renovation and it shows in our newer furnishings and amenities. We are sorry you were unhappy with our windows that don't open (and never have) and with having to use an elevator to get to the second level parking ramp.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. It was a quiet, clean place to stay. The desk staff was helpful. The room was nice. Nothing outstanding here but no problems at all. We would stay here again. The motel is right downtown and within easy walking distance from many resturaunts. It is downtown so there are some unsavory charectors in the area but adecent police presence as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dan P., thank you for sharing your comments about the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location in relation to the many great restaurants in the area. Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We liked the location of this hotel - downtown Dubuque. It is your typical Holiday Inn. Restaurant was ok - not bad but not great. I would stay here again. Overall it was a good experience. You can find plenty to do in Dubuque.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john-54220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you, john-54220, for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate guest feedback.

We're very glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and the many things to do in Dubuque. We look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We Stayed in Dubuque over the Easter holiday weekend. The hotel overall was quite good. The room was a standard king. Mattresses were very comfy and the room had a great seating area as well. We had our dog with us and we were conveniently put near an exit for walking. They had multiple elevators so there was never a wait, and the hallways were wide and well lit. Everything was very clean and tidy, and seemed nicely updated. The pool and hot tub were good, however quite a bit smaller than what appeared in the online pictures. My only complaint would be the windows that don't open. Fresh air, especially on one of the first full warm weekends, would have been great. Not sure why so many hotels are eliminating the open/partially window? The hotel is situated right downtown Dubuque, amidst the rapidly changing restaurant, bar, shopping scene.
Totally loved it !!!! Superb food possibilities, decadent and oh so delicious Stam Chocolatier, Italian, American, Mexican , Chinese etc. etc.... ALL within walking distance of the hotel!! Don't miss the Fenelon street Elevator just a short walk up 4th street from the hotel. It's super cheap, Dog Friendly, and gives one of the Midwest's most spectacular views once you reach the top!!! All within walking distance of this Holiday Inn. Love Dubuque, and will for sure stay here again to enjoy your beautiful historic downtown district.

Room Tip: We used Travelocity and saved 30% each night! Couldn't have even matched it with my AARP discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you, Steveswede, for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are very glad we met and exceeded your expectations on your hotel stay. It's great that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and all that this area of Dubuque has to offer. We will share your kind comments with our neighbor, Stam Chcolatier, as well.

Thank you for the 5 star review! We look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our motorcycle club stays here every year. Rooms are
clean and staff is friendly and helpful. Ramp parking keeps our bikes out of the rain.
Location is close to a lot of night life and local attractions.
We'll be back here again next year. Very reliable service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We want to thank you, 101Sheila, for your positive comments. We are very glad we met and exceeded expectations for your club's accommodations and that you enjoy our convenient downtown location. We look forward to your visit next year!

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I spent a few weeks in Dubuque on business and stayed here. It was within easy walking distance of where I worked and there were plenty of nearby restaurants. I visited in March and it snowed three times in the two weeks I was there. So it was also important to be able to eat in the hotel itself.

My main complaint was the proximity to train tracks and the horns blowing from trains going by at all hours. But given other hotels are in the same area they all have that issue.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river also overlook the parking area (people coming and going early in the AM or la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwleach32057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the 4 star review, gwleach. We appreciate guest comments as it lets us know what we do well and what we could improve upon. We are glad you liked our convenient downtown location, with its proximity to your work and to many restaurants. And that you enjoyed the on-site restaurant, the River City Beefstro.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again, whether you are in Dubuque for work or for pleasure.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,133 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
625 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing