We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed September 12, 2008

This is a nice clean place with a very friendly, helpful staff. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 335 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2008

The hotel had a great downtown location. The staff was unfriendly and the rooms are in need of serious updating. The beds were mildly comfortable, but the carpets are in need of serious cleaning.

The rate was priced perfectly for what it is. Don't bother staying if you are looking for a decent pool or hot tub as both are extremely small.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Hotels was busy most rooms were full. Check in went well.
Pool was closed. VERY small. I have seen bigger hot tubs.
General condition of hotel was dirty. Carpets need to be cleaned or replaced. Elevators were not working properly. Food from room service was left in hallway overnight. Dirty dipers were left in the hall as well as the parking lot. Food at breakfast buffet was below average. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wmk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Our extended family decided two days before the start of the holiday weekend to arrange an impromptu family reunion; we found adjoining rooms in the Holiday Inn that suited us fine. We chose this property for the pet policy ( $25 flat fee for the dog ) and location. Front desk staff was helpful.
Pool was small. Very small. Kids in the pool not being watched by adults. Whirlpool adjacent to too-small pool was very chemical-filled...we didnt stay long.
Both gambling casinos in town were accessible by free shuttle, and the Diamond Jo casino in the Ice Harbor was in walking distance. Across the street is the Five Flags center which holds concerts and other events. Also in walking distance was a McDonalds and the Cable Car Square shopping district. Don't miss a ride on the Fenelon Place Elevator !
The rooms were a little small but suited us fine. The morning room service was super-fast even with the hotel being sold out, and the prices were reasonable.
All in all an okay stay - we weren't wowed, and were disappointed only in the tiny pool.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmerinthedell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Hotel was as expected... pleasantly surprised when they gave us a King Whirlpool suite when we had reserved a two-double bedroom. Not a bad surprise!

Had breakfast at the restaurant, River City Beefstro. It was okay. Have been to better breakfast buffets through this chain before.

Pool area was decent- on the smaller side with a hot tub available.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
Thank Jessma9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I was very pleased with this hotel. The lobby was beautiful and the room was standard. The pillows were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The pool and hot tub were pretty small, but clean. Parking was handy and location was right off of main street with several restaurants/attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank duchessmellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I've stayed in several hotels in Dubuque and this ranks among the average ones. It is a basic Holiday Inn with a slightly "upper crust" feel compared to the many motel style accommodations found around town.

This doesn't mean that it would be anything luxurious, though. The room was of basic American standard in size and decoration and in a descent condition. The lobby and restaurants share the similar style and are relatively clean, though not new anymore. A nice fact is complimentary parking under a roof and with a direct access to the lifts.

A major downside is the lack of a buffet breakfast option. You'll have to order from a menu and thus it takes at least 30 minutes to complete this morning chore.

If you want to stay downtown, this may be your only option. I will however choose one of the newer hotels for my next visits.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,462 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
706 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Dubuque, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing