We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a day in Dubuque around Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Dubuque. We checked in to explore this port for the first time. The hotel charged us less than the online price and a additional 10 percent off. We enjoyed it's amenities, such as gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, wi-fi, and free parking. My 17-month grandson learned to enjoy the jacuzzi. It is an excellent hotel for our family of 5. We will stay there again if we are around there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 335 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dubuque Holiday Inn downtown sept 18-22
It was the perfect location for visiting galena. Dubuque sites and surrounding wineries
The beds were very comfortable
There is an ok work out room and a restaurant insure that we did not eat at
In walking distance are several good restaurants and is a short drive to a casino
All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Above and beyond what I expected. The room was really clean and fresh and quite spacious. Staff was always very courteous and helpful. Free parking which is great because you're so close to different restaurants and shops that you can just leave your car and walk everywhere. We would definitely stay here again. (Though we didn't use the pool, we did notice that it was extremely small - more like a giant hot tub size than swimming size). We also booked through their hotel website and paid early, thus earning us free breakfast every morning. And the breakfast buffet was awesome! I don't usually go for buffets but they kept everything hot and fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljgrayrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to the Holiday Inn for my birthday weekend. The check in was quick and the front desk very polite and helpful. Our room was clean. The location was super. Our view was overlooking a rooftop with airconditioners, so not the greatest, but thats ok. When we go someplace we go to explore, not sit in the room. The room was clean and the bed comfy with a variety of pillows. Now for the bad...the pool. We actually thought it was the hot tub!The picture is deceiving. They must have used a wide angle lens. It's about the same size as some backyard above ground pools. The parking is in the back of the hotel, up a ramp. It was full, so we had to park on a side-street. There is another parking garage which we couldn't fit in due to a canoe on our roof. No free breakfast either, but there is a restaurant on the premises which I ordered breakfast from and it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachcruizer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear beachcruizer77,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our pool and parking arrangement. We will look into this point.I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel offered very good customer service and the rooms were really good. The rooms were clean and modern, most with either a view of the city or the river. It offers a small but functional room, a bar/restaurant and a stylish and large lobby/ lounge area.
I would go to this hotel again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

the staff at this hotel from pat at the front desk to jason at the restaurant were excellent. i had stayed at this hotel three months ago and believe it or not they remembered me, and made me feel like i was home. i stay in hotels very frequently and have never been treated this good and felt so happy about staying there. looking forward to visiting this hotel and my new friends again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Looking for inexpensive place to stay while traveling west. Several recommendations by the chamber of commerce. Chose Holiday in. Right in the center of town. I was a little dated (dirty hall carpets) but clean enough satisfy my picky wife. Quiet room, close restaurants. and less than $100

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,437 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Dubuque, IA
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $95 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing