We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall the Holiday Inn Dubuque was clean and comfortable. The beds had great sleep quality and the room was very clean. The lobby and lounge were everything that was advertised. I booked this hotel because we were staying over the memorial day weekend and I wanted a pool and hot tub for the kids. The pool was small and the hot tub was the smallest I have ever seen. It literally has a 2 person capacity and it was closed for half of our stay.
I like that the elevators required you to swipe your key card to get to our floor. I enjoyed the daily coffee service in the lobby. The kids were disappointed in the pool which was small, filled with adults and smokers.
Again, overall, we had a clean and comfortable stay, it is just that the pool is not great for kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyhotcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear johnnyhotcakes,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is pleasing to know that you had a clean and comfortable stay. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience about the pool. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Dubuque you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    129
    64
    25
    11
See reviews for
77
82
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wheaton IL
Level Contributor
359 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room, area not the best but the hotel has great security measures that you feel secure. Bath room has an amazing sink and vanity, but the shower is small an has no are to put shampoo, soap shower is curved and if your tall or large you will fell crammed. Bed is very comfy, nice desk, tv, fridge.
We ate at the restaurant/ bar...service is very slow but staff was very nice, food decent.
The pool is small and the smallest hot tub you have ever seen. Area was clean, but some of the guests were drinking and even smoking in the pool area which killed the atmosphere we has to leave. We are from Illinois, maybe you are allowed to smoke inside public places so we didn't complain.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear zimrock,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room and found the bed comfortable. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, the hotel is older but very clean and odor-free. I was upgraded to a jacuzzi king room but never used the jacuzzi. It was big enough for 4 though. However, it was next to the bed, surrounded by a huge mirror, and while in bed it scared me in the middle of the night when I woke up! LOL!! The biggest issue I had is the small size of the shower in the bathroom. I had to step out to shave my legs, and I am not a big girl! The front desk and room service people are awesome. I did not like the ribs I got from room service. The sauce was great but the ribs were dry and tough. The quesadilla was great though. The breakfast I had delivered arrived hot. The hotel is in a great location for walking around and Diamond Jo casino is just a quick walk over the bridge and you can get the casino shuttle to take you back to the hotel for free, or call the hotel and they will pick you up. The first morning there was a problem getting into the exercise room. The front desk clerk didn't have a key to unlock it and our key cards didn't work so he had to break into the room! There was a treadmill, bike and eliptical. No weights. No towels. This is definitely a place I would stay at again, although next time I want a view of the river!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynJ6354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you don't need that free hot breakfast this place may work for you. The only thing we found not wonderful was the semi-noisy A/C unit, not a huge problem, but may be hard to sleep if you need it very quiet. But everything else was great! Convenient DT location, Nice big TV, Very clean! Very Friendly! Very Quiet! Comfy bed. Well stocked with all towels/supplies. Everything was in working order. Super fast elevators! We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge make sure you request one. Not all rooms come with mini fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a little pleasure trip with my pretty bride, we stayed a night here. The room was dated (including the older HVAC) but very clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We ordered dinner through room service and our meals were delivered within 30 minutes and was very good. The hotel is walking distance from many other attractions in Dubuque.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year for a Dubuque event that we attend and the hotel and related staff is always great. We stay in a lot of hotels and many are good or better one time but the next time you visit may be a different story. This hotel is the exception as it is always great! The food is great and Jason in the bar is really a great guy and will give you super service.

Room Tip: Have never had a problem with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had an excellent experience staying at this hotel. Very friendly staff.

The restaurant inside the hotel had great food and great service.

Very clean room and a beautiful lobby.

The shuttle service was on time and our chauffeur was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniewolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
624 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing