We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff to the rescue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff to the rescue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here for one night. I was in town for a funeral. I have a rather large family and after the wake some (25) of us decided we wanted something to eat. We called the hotel from the funeral home to make sure the kitchen was still open and could accommodate us.

Arriving at the hotel we entered the restaurant and took the staff apparently by surprise. They were not aware of our call. The only person there was a bartender who also waitresses. Since she was alone we told her we could go somewhere else. She said no it would be fine.

Koodos to her ... She rallied the troops and got several people to help her and accommodated almost 30 of us with no notice at all. She was awesome and gets high marks in my book.

The hotel overall is a bit dated as other people have said. However, the room was comfortable and quiet. There was construction going on so I assume they are starting the process of updating the hotel.

I would definitely give this place another stay next time I am in town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoeChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    122
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
75
80
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel had more positives then negatives but there were some negatives. I'll begin with the positives. The room was nice and cozy. The bathroom was big and had many towels. The shower head was nice and easy to maneuver. The beds were very comfortable (we had doubles) and the TV was new and a flat screen! We had a view of the bluffs which was nice. The desk area was good and plenty of light. The location was the best. All the shopping was located around the hotel (4 block radius) and 2 blocks from the elevator to the top of the bluff. I can't comment on the hotel eatery because we did not dine at this establishment. Now the negs. The elevators were old and slow. The staff elevator was for the guests too. The bathroom shower was too short. The window was broken and could not open. The breakfast was not free and costs for a family of 3 (Two adults and a teen) 30 dollars minimum. The parking garage was full due to a wedding, but we got lucky and found somebody leaving and stalked them to their car. We could here children running and screaming up and down the hallway at 7am which was not the hotels fault but a nuisance. The front staff were not the sweetest apples on the tree.There was not a line and they were rushing us. The other staff were nice. The last annoyence was the fact the shower did not drain well and it felt like a shower/bath combo. We paid about 139 dollars and I think it was not worth that price (There were many weddings which raised the price) usually the price is about 100 and I would agree with that price but anything above you should go down the street and pay 149 for the same room at the Hotel Julien. But nice hotel!

Room Tip: Try getting an even numbered room, they have views of the river as opposed to the odd numbers that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moscow201x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Thus hotel is old and well maintained. The service provided is excellent. It is located downtown near shopping and restaurants. They offer a shuttle service and have a good sports bar at location. The pool and exercise areas are well maintained and well stocked with towels etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I'm still shaking in anger about this one, so forgive me.

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Dubuque, IA beause I try as best as I can to stay at IHG properties when I travel frequently for my work with John Deere. With the remote/rural locations I often make my way to, IHG doesn't always have an option - so when I was asked to go to Dubuque and found a Holiday Inn within distance of work, I was excited.

It was by far the most horrible experience I've ever had at one IHG's properties.

I checked in Sunday evening for a three night stay and the check in process went smoothly - the male front desk attendent was very well mannered, accomodating, etc.

The hotel itself is dirty - the hallways smell like a pack of menthols, carpet is dirty, stained and ripped, the spa was "under repair," and the overall atmosphere was very drab. I can handle that, though, as I am only looking for a cozy bed to conk out in after working on a factory floor for 12 hours. The beds were nice.

I have no complaints about the service - until I came home from a 13 hour day on Tuesday, at 5:30 PM, to find my room wasn't cleaned. I assumed this had to be an error - did I put down the wrong check out date? I went to the front desk on my way to grab dinner and asked the manager on duty. Her response?

"Oh, we're just really busy."

What? You're busy? Too busy to clean the rooms? It's 5:30 at night. Do you not expect people to, uh, want to be in their rooms around that time?

"Would you just like us to send some towels up?"

I politely told her no, to forget it, and to please not have anyone clean my room as I don't want a maid in there cleaning when I return from dinner. Low and behold, I returned from dinner at 6:30 PM and there was a maid in my door, cleaning away as a liesurely pace.

In what world is it acceptable to not have rooms cleaned - or, in this case, have a maid cleaning occupied rooms at 6:30 PM? Not in a hotel chain that supposedly caters to people who travel for business.

I then went to the front desk to confront the manager - and was told, again, that there was nothing she could do. That there was a "concert at the casino" and I would have to "deal with it." She told me I never told her my room number - which is an absolute farce, because she looked up my room in her computer to see if it had been cleaned. I immediately checked out, and she did nothing to stop me. She apologized - but if there's one thing I can't stand, it's a hallow apology. She didn't care. She was going to re-rent the room because of the "concert at the casino," I'm sure.

This all could have been quelled with a simple "I'm sorry, Mike, why don't you go five feet to our bar, have dinner on us, and we'll get someone to clean your room right away?" Instead, I was met with "We're too busy to accomodate a paying guest."

Never again. The Hotel Julien is a block away and is 4000x better than this horribly managed menthol dump.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mike S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a block of rooms reserved for a wedding. When we arrived we were surprised that all of our party was dispersed over 5 floors. The front desk was less than accommodating wh n we asked to be place in an joining rooms with our party. The fact that this hotel claims to have a pool/spa is hilarious. The spa is so small that it fits 2 people max, 1 it you are over 200lbs. The pool is not much bigger. The location of this hotel is perfect. It needs a face lift throughout to compliment the face lift Dubuque has given to its downtown. The rooms are okay but also need new paint, a/c units and carpet. We stayed on the 5th floor but rooms I saw on the 1st & 3rd floors were not much better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngranback, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Jmuscle:

Thank you for the submitted review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. Feedback from our guests helps us determine what we do well and on what we need to improve. We do our best to accommodate requests for rooms being close by, but we cannot always meet those requests. We assign rooms at check-in based on rooms that are ready to be rented. Blocking rooms at the beginning of the day would create an issue for those trying to check in early, as we may have clean rooms available but blocked for someone else. Again, we do our best to accommodate requests. The makeover you indicate is needed is actually starting towards the end of August or the first part of September this year. We will be renovating all of the first floor public space. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit to see the changes. Again, thank you for your comments.

Norm Granback
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our stop here was a last minute decision (no planning). After driving all day we stopped here and got their last room for the night. A handicapped smoking room (that is what I said). I need to say that the staff in the bar/grill were just great and the food was very good. The location was also very good. The residual smoke in our room was not bad but the room was not very clean, found some mold in the shower and a long hair on the bathroom floor. The window was dirty. Our room key worked sometimes and didn't work other times. I took a key to the front desk when it wasn't working and got the lecture about where to store the key. The new key they gave me worked once before it stopped working all the time. The other key worked sometimes also. On Sunday morning the housekeeping crew started knocking on doors to clean at 9:30am and seemed surprised that people were not out of their rooms. Also noticed that we were being charged more than the posted price on the back of the hotel door. When I went to check out I told them again about the problems with the keys working inconsistently and again got the lecture about where not to carry the key. (They then said they would nootify maintenance to check the lock). I also said I noticed that the rate posted on the back of our door was less than what we were being charged. I was asked if that was the minumum or maximum rate posted. I said I didn't know it was their sign. The manager finally told me that rates could go up with special events. I asked then that since our room was the last one they could charge more and she said "Yes".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mj_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngranback, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear mj_vacation:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque.
We strive to a quality experience for all of our guests, and it is apparent that we succeeded in the Rivercity Beefstro Bar & Grille but missed that mark with your room accommodations. Your comments concerning the housekeeping issues have been addressed with our housekeeping staff for correction. While the electronic key cards can be problematic, they are generally very reliable. We did have our maintenance staff make some adjustments to the lock. As we have only one smoking handicap room, we were able to identify the room you are speaking of. Again, thank you for your comments. We would look forward to being able to accommodate you in future trips to Dubuque, with a much improved overall experience.


Sincerely,

Norm Granback
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Came to Dubuque for a golf weekend and had the worst hotel experience. The hotel was shabby and smelled funny . The room was decent at first, but things got worse as the night went on. Our room was next to a room with a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi must have been up against the wall by our headboard. The noise from the room next door and the vibrations were intolerable. We called to the front desk to request a different room. We were told there the hotel was full. We packed up and went to the front desk to inform them we were leaving. In a matter of minutes, rooms "magically" appeared. Having to switch rooms at 11:00 pm is less than convenient. Earlier in the evening, we tried to use the jacuzzi in the pool area but it stopped working. We had to find someone to see if they could fix it. I spent this much on a room at The Palmer House in Chicago. This would be a hotel that I would never recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngranback, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sheri J,

We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not provide you with a more positive experience. Since we can run a report on room moves, we are checking for rooms that guests moved from which were next to whirlpool rooms. I am pretty sure that we can identify the room you were in and will have our maintenance manager see if there is some reason why it was so noisy in the room next door. As we have not had this problem previously, I believe that the whirlpool may need some adjustment. I will speak with the desk person on duty and let them know that they should have researched our availability a little more thoroughly when you first called. Again, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing