We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Motel with great customer service!!!!!”
Review of Days Inn Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Dubuque
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I stayed from weds-sun,, Check inn was good, very friendly front desk,, Motel i believe is older, But room was clean... Found they had a bar and grill,,, food was good, ate in there 2 times..They have a outdoor pool. so i didn't use this time...They have a free Breakfast. was really nice. .. I spoke with a gentleman in there a few times at breakfast, Found out it was Motel owner!!! He and his employees made me feel very welcome.. .. I will stay here again when im back around this way ....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 666 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

Although the hotel is old, my room was clean, had newer carpet and furniture and was functional. The lobby has been updated and there is a lounge in the lobby that serves a great sandwich/appetizer menu and has entertainment on the weekends. There is also a free shuttle to either of the two casinos located in Dubuque. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions that I had. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank January1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I feel very safe at this motel. They are friendly and eager to help the travelers that stay there. The rooms are clean, the pillows and beds are very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast is very nice, serving waffles, fruit, cereals, juices, toast and bagels. A little off the main drag but signage is great so it is easy to get too. I say there whenever I am in the area

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnygirl086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronconrad, gm at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2009

Thank you for you review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Our room smelled like smoke. The sheets felt rough, and they were ripped, I am sure they were polyester. The place was extremely outdated. We heard a train blowing its horn, about 5 times throughout the night. This place is ghetto. We have stayed at Days Inn before, and have had decent experiences. This was below standard. Luckily we were just passing through Dubuque, and were there only one night. I would never stay here again. The only good part about this place is the continental breakfast. It had a decent variety of food options. Also the lobby, and continental breakfast area looks nicer and was slightly more updated looking than the actual hotel room.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank angus14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The hotel was ok for the price. Our non-smoking room smelled very smoky, and we were immediately given a new room on request, which was better. The continental breakfast was pretty good as well. The outdoor patio/bar was unexpected and nice. However, my 6-year-old son cut his foot on something sharp in the Days Inn pool, which then required stitches. I understand that accidents happen, but it was how we were treated that was the most upsetting. We were treated well by the hotel staff during this event, however were treated quite unfairly and rudely by the hotel owner. Because the staff could not find the sharp object, we were treated as if it were our fault and only a feeble 'we're sorry' was given, even though it caused us to drastically alter our vacation plans due to the stitches and difficulty my son had walking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspeck_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronconrad, gm at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2009

First of all let me say how sorry we feel about your boys toe. We did everything we could about and beyond, we gave you a free night stay and payed for all the doctor bills, we took up most care for you. If i reamber right you didnt even want to take him to the hospital. But we wanted you to just to check him out. We also gave you a free night stay, but you were demainding 2 free night because you said it runed your trip. It did happand the last day you were there. We did check the pool also drained it and we found no sharp objects in or around the pool area. We just want to make sure that it wouldnt happand again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We were worried to book this hotel without reading the reviews, but given the prices in Dubuque and we needed a place to stay we decided to give it a try. We were impressed with the location, nestled on the bluffs edge and quiet. We got one room on the main floor and were able to park right next to our room. The room was clean and newly remodeled and smokefree (No smoke residue from days gone by). We arrived late, so a crib wasn't available, but the the woman at the desk ran one down at the end of her shift (Great service!), when she saw one wa available. The breakfast in the morning was great (waffles, etc) and a great added perk to an already low price.

If you want a great hotel at a great price- this is your pick. We will stay there again if ever passing through!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polkadotsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

First off I usually stay at cheaper hotels, try to stay under a $100. This hotel was really cute on the outside, it sits with cliffs on one side and lots of trees everywhere. Our room was extremely stinky, I asked for a non smoking but was given a smoking room and why I did not go ask for a different room is completely my problem and I do not fault the hotel for that. The room itself was typical not nice at all but clean. The bathroom had a drop ceiling that was very low and unappealing. The T.V. was very old and the sound kept coming in and out which was extremely annoying. The hotel has a bar and an outside deck that is really nice - the pool was clean but only gets to be four feet deep which to me was a disappointing as well. The patrons were load when the bar closed but that didn't bother me as I live in a city with constant noise. The location is pretty nice, very close to downtown and to lots of stores/restaurants. I visited a thrift store and heard a woman saying they got amazing rooms at the Canfield Hotel right downtown for $60 that had a sitting room as well as the bedroom area. We drove past that hotel and that looks more up my alley... vintage and inexpensive. I did not see that hotel to schedule online so I imagine you need to call to reserve a room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linderboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
3.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#7 of 17 in Dubuque
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dubuque

Address: 1111 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-7454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $55 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn - Dubuque is a large motel located in the heart of Dubuque. Located only 1 mile from the downtown area on Highway 20. We strive to be the best in service and cleanliness. Featuring: On-site Bar & Grill, Micro/Refrig in each room, free wi-fi, Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, seasonal outdoor pool and courtyard area with smoking/pet-friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Days Inn
Days Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing