We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired of being harnessed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Dubuque
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired of being harnessed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location and beautiful pool!!

The cleaning staff was great and friendly.

The bar staff and security people at the pool were rude. There are no signs posted at the pool concerning carry-ins. So we were sun tanning at the pool with a couple beers and the security guy told us to leave. So we were walking out through the bar (the only exit) with our "contraband" and the bartender screamed at us that we can't have our beer in the bar.

I understand they want to protect their sales; but This place needs to clearly post the rules and train the staff to not be rude.

We travel often to Dubuque; I wish this place had a friendlier staff to match the location and amenities for a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim52052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is very unfortunate you felt harassed during your stay with us. I would like to know which employee made you feel uncomfortable if you can remember his/her name or description. Our location is perfect with beautiful ammenities such as our outdoor pool/courtyard area. I do hope one staff member does not deter you from staying with us again. We do have a no carry-in policy in our pool area since this is adjacent to our bar & grill. This rule is the same for every guest. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    166
    154
    83
    69
See reviews for
166
179
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently got 3 rooms through Priceline at the Days Inn Dubuque. I have to first say that I will not be booking through Priceline Deal breaker anymore because their policy is misleading. The fine print does say that they cannot guarantee a non-smoking room. But when we arrived at the hotel, our rooms were all in different areas of the hotel and one of our rooms was smoking. We booked these well in advance and could have been given a non-smoking room, but the hotel said that Priceline had specifically requested smoking rooms.

Hotel Review: Dirty, very dated, bugs,no bath towels available, terrible breakfast with few items, prostitutes working out of ground floor rooms below ours, tubs would not drain, TV did not work properly.

Despite all of this, the outside beer garden area was quite nice. The outdoor pool was ok, and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayJo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The next time you book we encourage you to book directly with the hotel if you have specifics you would like to address. 3rd party websites such as Priceline do not know what is currently available and also are not familiar with our facility. Outside of being immediately upset at check-in I do hope the listed items in this review were reported to our management staff during your stay. Additional bath towels are available at the front desk, continental free breakfast available for guests who are not expecting a sit-down restaurant type meal. We offer cold breakfast options as well as hot oatmeal, waffles, etc. We absolutely do not tolerate any illegal activity such as prosititution in any of our rooms. Again I hope you reported any behavior to our front desk staff immediately. You are welcome to contact me directly anytime to discuss any matters further. We appreciate all feedback we receive. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubuque hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room was ok but there was 1 roach in the room. Rooms are clean but not very new. Taps had little leak but i guess that depends from room to room as we had taken the adjacent room as well and that was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with room number 1 or 2 are nearer to the front desk.. avoid rooms starting with 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swamisanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your business. Glad to hear the staff was pleasant and nice! Hopefully you reported the bug found to the front desk immediately upon finding it. We are an older hotel in the process of renovating rooms. Next time you stay, ask to see if a newly renovated room is available. I believe you would be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff members at this hotel were friendly and helpful and the room rate was fair. However, this hotel did not live up to the Days Inn standards and quality I have grown to expect. The place feels old and slightly dirty. The breakfast was slim and the breakfast attendant was harried. To top it off, while we were trying to eat breakfast a carpenter came in and starting installing trim right underneath the area where the food was placed. The nail gun was loud and disturbing--not a peaceful way to eat a meal. In addition, I can't help but think that this episode might have been a safety concern as there were many folks in the room. Not to mention the fact that there did not seem to be steps taken to cover the food or utensils prior to the work taking place.

If you are staying for a single night this place might serve your needs. However, I would not suggest you stay there for an entire vacation trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, Manager at Days Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. I am glad our staff did their job and were friendly to you and other guests. Yes, we are an older hotel, but we are continually making changes and updates to the rooms and lobby areas (this would explain the carpenter). I am sorry his presence disturbed your breakfast and I hope the free meal met your expectations. We do hope to have you back again during your travels through the Dubuque area. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dubuque

Property: Days Inn Dubuque
Address: 1111 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-7454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn - Dubuque is a large motel located in the heart of Dubuque. Located only 1 mile from the downtown area on Highway 20. We strive to be the best in service and cleanliness. Featuring: On-site Bar & Grill, Micro/Refrig in each room, free wi-fi, Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, seasonal outdoor pool and courtyard area with smoking/pet-friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Days Inn
Days Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing