We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for one night”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This motel filled the bill for what we wanted - one night in a relatively clean place at a cheap price. With a walk-in rate of only $70 on a Friday night, it did just fine. Our room was on the ground floor across from the pool, but we didn't hear any noise from it. The location was convenient to bringing in luggage and getting to the breakfast room. The bedding and carpeting are tired, but for the most part everything was clean. Breakfast in the morning was standard fare - waffles, cereal, toast, biscuits and gravy. Not sure I'd stay here again since there other options in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank where2next2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Breakfast food wasn't very good and selections are minimal. Not up to Comfort Inn standards. We didn't try the pool. Hallways and elevator floors were dirty. Bathroom was small in the room we stayed in maybe because we had a king & queen bed which was nice.

Also had a picnic table outside that a couple of guys were smoking at and some liquor bottles so not necessarily a place for families to stay.

We were just passing through so didn't stay that long but will chose another option next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoHawksAnkenyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

So let's start with check in is after 3. We got there right at 3, and our room was not ready. We had a over tired 2 year old with us, and it took 45 minutes to get into a room. (Another couple had waited longer!) While we were waiting, a staff member stomps around saying she hates her job. Really??? We get to the room and it is fairly clean, average hotel room. Except dirty towels in the bathroom! The "indoor pool" is about the size of a normal hotel hot tub. AND it was ICE COLD! Come to find out that the heater was broken. But no signs anywhere telling people. Not worth the savings to stay here!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Some rooms have no fridge used to be all did now they don't so had to use cooler to keep food cold. Breakfast was good need to be quick to get it other wise it is major line. Good area for attractions was disappointed that was no buffet restaurant in town except for hu hot we waited awhile for our big group of people to seated at perkins which isn't the best place to go for hand caped seating got a table for my mom and uncle and grandma then major wait good food though. Room was clean and staff friendly willing to help you found attractions and give you directions. If you forget something the have it and internet the have. Book a least two months in advance. Has Walmart across the street. Field of dreams close and most is going over bridge to see galena, IL. Another fun attraction is jelly belly factory in Wisconsin.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank jennifer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As Comfort Inns go, this one is average. It is out of the downtown area and on the edge of the city. It is near restaurants and shopping, even light industrial area. For the size of the city, I thought it would be a better facility, a little dated but served our purpose. It was clean and more importantly took pets. Average breakfast bar that is offered in hotels these days. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtbuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The only real negative was waiting for 5 minutes for someone to be at the front desk for check-in. The room was very nice and clean. The bed was clean and comfy. The pool and hot tub area was nice - would have wished for a window or door to open to get some fresh air. Didn't have any noise issues, even with being by the elevator. Breakfast was good with biscuits and gravy, as well as make your own waffles. It was a really nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsolsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night while having my vehicle serviced and the staff readily accommodated a late checkout. The room was nice and clean with microwave and refrigerator but I found the bathroom somewhat cramped due to the location/position of the door. Although I did not have a pet with me, I did note that dogs are allowed for a fee. Overall, this was a good place to stay and I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idabob5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#16 of 17 in Dubuque
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 4055 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: $62 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubuque Comfort Inn® is conveniently located near many area attractions, including America's River at the Port of Dubuque, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino, Five Flags Civic Center, the Dubuque County Fairgrounds, Sundown Mountain and the Kennedy Mall. This Dubuque, IA hotel is just minutes from Loras College, Clarke College and the University of Dubuque. The Finley Hospital and Mercy Medical Center are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing