We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe we need to give it another chance”
Review of Los Aztecas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Aztecas
Ranked #38 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Maybe we need to give it another chance”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We ate a late dinner here when staying at the Super 8 across the parking lot. Since it was late we each ordered something ala carte. My chalupa had virtually no cheese on it, and my spouse's chilis rellenos was the worst he's ever had. He only ate 1/4 of it. We were too beat from the long drive to complain. They did give a generous portion of chips and salsa and the salsa was very good. The worst thing about the whole meal was the fried ice cream for dessert...have had it at two other Mexican restaurants and have never had any like this...we only ate half of it. It had a coating of sorts that seemed like it was made out of some sort of cereal...like oats. The service was fine, the place was clean and decorated nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    21
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Dubuque”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have ALWAYS had good experiences at Los Aztecas - both locations. The 32 oz. cervezas are a treat and the Aztecas Fajitas are my favorite dish.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersville, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Yummy Yummy”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Truly amazing the food the service was good the food was outstanding 7 also very quiet not that loud as you may find in other places. The fish Tacos were great if that fits your fancy also the Chips & Salsa fill you up before the food gets to you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place has good Mexican food and is conveniently located between 2 motels. They food was good and it came out rather quickly. My buddy asked for a recommendation off the menu in regards to having some sort of burrito filled with steak. Taking the servers recommendation he ordered. When it came to the table his burrito was filled with ground beef. They immediately corrected the situation and had a new burrito to the table within 5 minutes. All in all good experience and the Margaritas were excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chip & Salsa & Cheap Margaritas make it”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

If it were not for the chips & salsa and cheap margaritas on Wednesdays, I would probably not return as often. Average entrees. Great spot to meet with friends if you are wanting an outdoor option in the summer (if going to the Asbury location).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AriaColeAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Aztecas also viewed

 

Been to Los Aztecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing