We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel seemed dated. Was the same type of Holidome that used to be nice in the 1980's. Would have expected a more modern hotel. Need more ice machines. Walls are thin, baby next door kept us up til 3a.m. breakfast was good at champps.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 733 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Best Western Plus on Highway 20 in Dubuque. We had two connecting rooms, both of them large and very clean with comfortable beds and flat screen TVs. We chose the hotel both for location and for good rates (military/government). The pool was good for our 3 and 7 year old girls who spent an hour frolicking in it there. Would have been nicer if the shallow end had been two feet instead of three feet but that's a minor point. Champps Restaurant is connected to the hotel - we had a wonderful meal with extraordinary service. Complimentary breakfast there in the morning which included two meats, fruits, potatoes and much more. Overall, one of the best experiences we've had in the past several years at a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a great hotel. Rooms are large and clean. The service is first-rate. When we checked into our room, it appeared that the housekeeping had not completed the job, so we were quickly given another room. This room's refrigerator was full of the previous guest's leftover food. The staff could not have been more apologetic, took $20 off our bill and gave us a $20 gift card to the hotel's restaurant, "Champps." We were very appreciative. The indoor pool and game area, in a center atrium, are great for families. And the best part is the breakfast at Champps. No other complimentary hotel breakfast we've had has come close. It's real, hot and tasty breakfast food in an all-you-can-eat buffet: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, home fries, fruit, pastry, etc., etc. And this hotel is very affordable considering all that you get for your dollar. A great value all around. We visit family in Dubuque once a year and this very fine Best Western is our Dubuque address.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently traveled here with a group and some of us arrived early due to the heat. The staff was most accommodating to check on our room availability and get us alternate rooms so we could cool off. Simple requests were immediately attended to in a very friendly manner.
The Champs restaurant attached to the hotel was also very good without being overly priced as hotel restaurants can with great service and friendly staff as well.
The hot breakfast was very good and well attended.

I would definitely recommend this location if ever in the Dubuque area.

Room Tip: There is plenty of parking by the various entrances with elevators available so most locations will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband had a family reunion in Dubuque, Iowa so we booked with the Best Western Plus. The room was large, bright and clean. It was conveniently located near the Mississippi on the east side and the lovely town all around. We were pleasantly surprised at the amenities that were provided, such as the beautiful, sunny pool area. The full breakfast was delicious with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cottage fries and pancakes. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Tina Gau. Our only complaint would have to be that the restaurant was a sports bar with TV's everywhere, so we didn't eat there. We loved Dubuque and plan to go back again, and will definitely stay at this hotel while there.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clharte8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My 12 year old and I were here for a weekend getaway in Galena. We stayed two nights and were very satisfied with this hotel. There is nothing super fancy but it is very clean, lovely (warm enough!) pool and a hot-tub for Mom, a really good hot breakfast, easy parking, gracious staff. My only complaints were the smell of smoke in the halls - I feel so bad for hotel people, tho, I can imagine how difficult it must be to get that smell out of carpets, and as long as there are smoking rooms it would be impossible to get rid of. Our room was nonsmoking and that was fine. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for a visitor to Galena looking for a reliable, affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the moment that I walked in and proceeded to the reception I was greeted with smiles and a friendly voice saying welcome to The Best Western how may I help you. I cannot say enough kind words about the office staff and housekeeping on the pleasant stay that I had here. I used the pool and spa which was always a welcome sight and the end of my very long day the area was always clean and well maintained, the gym which I was in about three times a week was always clean and fresh as well, all areas of the hotel as well as the outside were always clean and the gardens and lawns were well manicured too. The room I had (459) was one that had a kitchenette in it so if I didn't want to go out for a meal I could cook one myself in the room which was great the room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable just like home.
The restaurant attached to the hotel called Champs is a great place to eat and meet people, you can watch your favourite sport with over 15 big screen TV’s you will not miss any sport worldwide.
My stay at the hotel was for 3 months and I literally had everything on the Champs menu and I could not fault the food there what so ever I would of like to thank the Chef but never got the chance to so will say it now hat off to you Chef it was a pleasure to eat your food. I would like to give the waitresses a big praise as well; they were very friendly, professional and had a great attitude towards their customers and job, I would like to thank the bar staff Emily, Sarah, Matt and Brad who made me feel very welcome like if I was at my local bar/pub back home, all under the management duties of Dennis who work well with his team and created a great atmosphere at Champs.
In saying all that it was a pleasure to be a guest and a patron at the hotel and restaurant and I look forward to my next stay at The Best Western Dubuque.

Kind regards

Chris Friedewald
International training, production and assembly consultant for manufacturers in the USA,
technical support, warranty, parts clarification.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFriedewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
689 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#7 of 17 in Dubuque
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 3100 Dodge St, Highway 20 W, Dubuque, IA 52003-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $87 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently remodeled hotel in Dubuque, Iowa offers stylish accommodations and a deluxe hot breakfast complimentary 7 days a week. Escape to the picturesque Best Western PLUS Dubuque Hotel and experience friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. Champps Americana Sports Bar and Restaurant conveniently located right on site. Centrally located in Dubuque, the hotel offers a quiet, peaceful atmosphere and beautiful manicured landscaping. Hotel guests will be a short drive from the Mississippi River and Port of Dubuque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Dubuque
Dubuque Best Western
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing