We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel w/ a great pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel w/ a great pool area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with a great indoor pool area. Many families use this hotel to meet for the weekend, so expect to find the pool full of kids playing all day and night long. A good room type tip will be to choose the rooms on 3rd and 4th floor. You won't hear the pool noise from there. Big rooms and a nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review! We appreciate hearing when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us! Our pool/atrium area is definitely a great area for families to gather and have some fun! Thank you again, and we hope to accommodate you in the future! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    183
    62
    14
    16
See reviews for
284
150
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for work for four nights. Friendly and accomodating staff, clean rooms, and I slept like a baby. Great location in Dubuque makes for easy access. Didn't utilize the pool area but looked great for families. Was nice to have Champps resturaunt attached to the hotel. Will definitely stay here again when in Dbq.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Kevin for your wonderful review! It's great to know that our corporate travelers, as well as our leisure travelers, have had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to your return! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here during an extended trip. My husband has stayed here before for business, so we thought we'd stay. The rooms were quiet, clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable. Champs was nice for dinner and for the free breakfast buffet in the morning. The pool area was nice, our only complaint was that it was very cold in there in December. Everyone had sweatshirts, coats, or fleece jackets on while the kids were swimming on the other side, kind of ironic. Also, the moisture on the dome dripped off on you everywhere but where they had a sun shade cover. We would stay here in warmer weather without hesitation. The staff was very friendly, and we LOVE that this hotel is pet friendly too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the backside, asking for a quiet room away from the pool area. It was perfect for a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marismom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such positive reviews! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is in the process of updating our Atrium/Pool area, which also includes finding a remedy to our condensation issues and cool temps. It's a struggle with having the dome and such a huge area with our cold winters, but we are confident in solving the issues. Thank again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First thought via entrance and lobby was 'this is a great hotel'. You can see the swimming pool entertainment center from the lobby, but with doors there you cannot hear the commotion. We were in town for a sporting event. The hotel was the host hotel for said event. As expected, they put us in the 'old wing' of the hotel.

The elevator probably would not have fit the luggage carts/racks, it was tiny and barely fit us and out luggage. The elevator was *quite* slow and it was much easier to walk the four flights down/up than it was to wait for the lift.

The hallway on the fourth floor was open and reasonable, the hallway to our room was darker and smelled of stale smoke covered with deodorizer. It was disgusting. Again, since we were in town for the sporting event, I wasn't surprised they put us in this area, just disappointed.

The room was large, two queen beds, armoir the tv sat upon housed the microwave and refrigerator.

There was no television guide

The hairdryer in the bathroom --set upon the wall--had someone's hair stuck to the intake vent on it.

The flooring in the bathroom --the half by the sink looked like it had been scrubbed clean and it was brighter than the other half by the toilet and shower area.

The soap dish in the shower was useless. It filled with water as the shower ran, and it didn't have a drain for it.

The water in the shower was lukewarm on up to HOT HOT HOT and the pressure on the shower was great.

The swimming pool and hot tub area seemed to be clean. They apparently rent out this area for parties. It was pretty busy when there.

Unable to find an open parking spot at 8pm on Saturday night after coming back from dining out. We ended up parking at the end of the restaurant parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeadvilleFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We take our guests opinions seriously and appreciate the information; it helps us to know where to focus our attention on our continued updates. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and have an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your sporting event and will give us the opportunity to provide you with a more enjoyable stay next time your travels bring you to this area.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,IOWA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been gathering our family for a mid winter reunion for almost 28 years. We have been coming to the Best Western for about the last 4 years. The hotel staff, accommodations, Champs restaurant and bar are fabulous! There are about 50+ of us and we rented a party room this year and it worked out great! In the past we've only used the atrium area and that worked out fine as well but having the room was more private.The hotel was quite busy but staff still friendly and accommodating. We have lots of little ones and feel the environment for them is very safe. Have already made reservations for next year!
Sandi

PS, they are updating the pool area so call before hand to get a status on this if you plan to use the pool.

Room Tip: Pool side if you have small children.. away from pool if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skstelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sandi,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! It is very rewarding to know that we've provided you and your family an enjoyable place to meet year after year! Having one of the meeting rooms is especially recommended with a large group; I'm glad it all worked out so well for you. Thank you again and we are excited for you to come back next year and experience our new atrium area! Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Green, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The banquet room was clean and spacious. The staff was outstanding. The sales staff attended to all of our needs. The rooms were clean and modern. There is a breakfast included in the morning at the attached restaurant; it was better than anything I am use to. All in all it was a great experience and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you Steven for the great review! We appreciate your kind words. We strive to provide our guests with clean accommodations and friendly, helpful customer service. It's so nice to be able to pass on your positive comments to our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with your lodging needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 3100 Dodge Street, Highway 20 W, Dubuque, IA 52003-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently remodeled hotel in Dubuque, Iowa offers stylish accommodations and a deluxe hot breakfast complimentary 7 days a week. Escape to the picturesque Best Western PLUS Dubuque Hotel and experience friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. Champps Americana Sports Bar and Restaurant conveniently located right on site. Centrally located in Dubuque, the hotel offers a quiet, peaceful atmosphere and beautiful manicured landscaping. Hotel guests will be a short drive from the Mississippi River and Port of Dubuque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Dubuque
Dubuque Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing