We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”

Manna Java World Cafe
Ranked #28 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Manna Java World Cafe's only location is located on the corner of 8th and Locust in downtown Dubuque. The other 2 locations have closed.
Midwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We meet friends for breakfast here. Our faves are the Breakfast Burrito and Eggs Benedict (available on weekends). I like their coffee but sometimes it's not very hot. The servers seem very busy waiting on tables & the counter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DickandJaneMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    12
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We will go back”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped here on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews. The chocolate croissant was mentioned, and they did have one available. There was almost no chocolate in it, but the croissant itself was delectable. I would stop again just to see if they had a a croissant. The frosted sugar cookies were decent. I hope we have a chance to pick up one of those croissants again, though!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank musicgal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dependably delicious”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We live in Dubuque, and come here often. Sometimes jsut coffee, sometimes a meal. It's a nice lunch spot or early dinner before a show at the Grand Opera House, Five Flags, or Fly By Night Productions. We like the food for sure-- wonderful sandwiches and delicious gourmet pizzas. Service is excellent. The people working here definitely take pride in their work and in their food. It's in the historic and recently renovated Roshek Buidling. It was once THE department store in Dubuque- elegant and complete. Now it houses IBM, with some shops and a large lobby space on the street level. Sit near the front windows and watch Dubuque go by.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocheart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Baked goods are divine, the coffee sucks”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Because I work in the building, I have coffee and a pastry every morning at this place. The prices are outrageous, and the coffee is not worth the money. But the baked goods are made with real butter and a lot of care, and those are worth every penny. Try the chocolate croissant; that is even worth the meter money it will cost you to get near the place. Come early, because all the IBM people snarf those up in a hurry! Also the giant pecan rolls are fantastic, as are the pecan bars. If you are lucky enough to be there on a day when they have Italian cream cake, get a slice of that-- it's yummy. Also, their Sophia sandwiches are pretty good. The food is upscale, but then again, so are the prices. And the service can be pretty slow. They're only open 7am to 5pm. But like I said-- the baked goods make the trip worthwhile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Recommened to me”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were staying at the Grand Harbor Resort and the concierge recommended this place for lunch. It was a very interesting menu with sandwich options I loved. When we received our lunch it did not disappoint. Our waitress checked back with us often but there was nothing else we needed besides our lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manna Java World Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Manna Java World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing