We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding ceremony venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wedding ceremony venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We held our wedding ceremony at the Mandolin Inn and it could not have been more intimate or beautiful. Innkeeper, Amy, was amazingly helpful as we were organizing the event from out of town. Even before booking her Inn, she emailed us and provided numerous suggestions and recommendations regarding an officiate, restaurants nearby for dinner, etc. She responded to each of our emails and graciously accommodated a changing number of guests. The Inn is beautiful and our guests noted the intimate feel of a ceremony set at this B and B. Our only regret was not staying at the B and B due to the number of overnight guests attending. We will return for a weekend getaway!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you celebrate your wedding ceremony here! Congratulations and I wish you both a wonderful married life. Do come and stay - Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Innkeeper Amy Boynton went out of her way to make our stay there momentous. The historic house is beautifully maintained and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: check out the Inn's website to choose a room that appeals to you. They are all tastefully done...
See more room tips
Green Features: Amy uses locally sourced food and does recycle. Beyond that, I cannot comment.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your family and friends stay here on the occasion of your wedding. I am so happy that you chose to share such a special time here at the Inn. I do hope that you'll return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter and I came here for our birthdays which we were looking for a getaway from the busy city for some quite time. The Inn is very cozy and warm. The owner Amy makes you feel right at home and very knowledgeable of the history of Iowa with great tips for restaurants, etc. of the area. We were happy we made the choice to stay here at the Mandolin Inn with which we did get the peace and quite we came for opposed to staying in Galena with all the busy traffic and crowds of people. We visited Galena the next day (15 minutes away) and enjoyed the shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It was a pleasure to have the two of you share your birthdays here at the Mandolin Inn this past weekend. I do hope you'll come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I decided to make Dubuque a stop on our cross-country road trip and are very glad we stayed at The Mandolin Inn. Amy is a warm, knowledgeable and capable host (and an absolutely fantastic chef!) who put us at ease as soon as she opened the door. The inn itself is a beautiful house adorned with Tiffany and Mackintosh stained glass. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with plenty of furnishings and all the essentials (towels, bath robes, TV, etc.) Just a few things to note: the showers take a bit of tinkering as the cold water seems to overpower the hot even when barely turned on, the wifi has a hard time reaching certain parts of the house and there are two very sweet cats living in the house. If you can handle these minor issues, I wholeheartedly recommend staying at The Mandolin Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you guys stay here. I hope that your trip on Rt. 20 continues to go well - and that your blog of the trip is going well. I just got back from NC so I'll have to catch up on your Blog once the two cats have decided that they have welcomed me back properly. Again - I apologize for the solid limestone and brick house and it's fight against allowing Wi-Fi to strongly reach the Eastern end of the mansion. Oh if you have just hit CA the partying must be crazy regarding the 2 Supreme Court decisions. I do hope you'll come again if ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did a Valentine Days one night stay. The host arranged to meet us early. The room was clean, a bit cluttered, but the furniture was well maintained. The bath shower arranged was creative, but functional. The lower level of the house was beautifully restored, and well maintained. The owner has plenty of personality, she spins thread, has cats, and likes to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarkiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you two stay here! - I'll take your remark about clutter under advisement and contact you about specifics. You are the first to suggest this, but I'm assuming you think the room doesn't need two seats. I'll also poll other guests. Thanks for your input. - Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Neither of us had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We really needed a weekend get-away and didn't want to go to a cold/impersonal hotel.

Amy, the inn keeper was a wealth of information, an awesome cook, a great conversationalist and provided the personal touches that made our first bed and breakfast experience the best ever.

We stayed in the Solarium room with our own bathroom (claw foot tub) and private patio. The house and grounds were well maintained. When we came back to the Mandolin Inn from the day's activities it was like coming home.

Debbie and Eolo
Des Moines, Iowa

Room Tip: The Solarium is a very bright room, but the shades on each window make it dark enough to sleep in. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Eolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you guys stay here. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast in Dubuque. Amy made us feel welcome and at home. She shared delightful information about the history of the mansion, the furnishings, and local lore. The house is beautifully restored and furnished with time period items. We stayed in the third floor suite, with its private bath. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Everything was first rate. The breakfast was delicious. Amy is a terrific host and this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the third floor suite and it was large and worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was such a treat to have you guys stay here. I'm glad you liked the Sunset Suite. I hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 199 Loras Blvd, Dubuque, IA 52001-4857
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic property dedicated to sharing the elegance and charm of an earlier time with a few discerning guests. Modern ammenities (central air, wireless internet access,tv,queen and king beds,)gorgeous antiques, gourmet breakfast. Perfect for romance, business travel, family get-togethers, girls' getaways, weddings, or exploring the historic upper Mississippi River. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandolin Inn Bed And Breakfast Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing