We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic first B&B experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic first B&B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I decided to make Dubuque a stop on our cross-country road trip and are very glad we stayed at The Mandolin Inn. Amy is a warm, knowledgeable and capable host (and an absolutely fantastic chef!) who put us at ease as soon as she opened the door. The inn itself is a beautiful house adorned with Tiffany and Mackintosh stained glass. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with plenty of furnishings and all the essentials (towels, bath robes, TV, etc.) Just a few things to note: the showers take a bit of tinkering as the cold water seems to overpower the hot even when barely turned on, the wifi has a hard time reaching certain parts of the house and there are two very sweet cats living in the house. If you can handle these minor issues, I wholeheartedly recommend staying at The Mandolin Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you guys stay here. I hope that your trip on Rt. 20 continues to go well - and that your blog of the trip is going well. I just got back from NC so I'll have to catch up on your Blog once the two cats have decided that they have welcomed me back properly. Again - I apologize for the solid limestone and brick house and it's fight against allowing Wi-Fi to strongly reach the Eastern end of the mansion. Oh if you have just hit CA the partying must be crazy regarding the 2 Supreme Court decisions. I do hope you'll come again if ever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did a Valentine Days one night stay. The host arranged to meet us early. The room was clean, a bit cluttered, but the furniture was well maintained. The bath shower arranged was creative, but functional. The lower level of the house was beautifully restored, and well maintained. The owner has plenty of personality, she spins thread, has cats, and likes to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarkiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you two stay here! - I'll take your remark about clutter under advisement and contact you about specifics. You are the first to suggest this, but I'm assuming you think the room doesn't need two seats. I'll also poll other guests. Thanks for your input. - Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Neither of us had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We really needed a weekend get-away and didn't want to go to a cold/impersonal hotel.

Amy, the inn keeper was a wealth of information, an awesome cook, a great conversationalist and provided the personal touches that made our first bed and breakfast experience the best ever.

We stayed in the Solarium room with our own bathroom (claw foot tub) and private patio. The house and grounds were well maintained. When we came back to the Mandolin Inn from the day's activities it was like coming home.

Debbie and Eolo
Des Moines, Iowa

Room Tip: The Solarium is a very bright room, but the shades on each window make it dark enough to sleep in. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Eolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you guys stay here. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast in Dubuque. Amy made us feel welcome and at home. She shared delightful information about the history of the mansion, the furnishings, and local lore. The house is beautifully restored and furnished with time period items. We stayed in the third floor suite, with its private bath. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Everything was first rate. The breakfast was delicious. Amy is a terrific host and this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the third floor suite and it was large and worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was such a treat to have you guys stay here. I'm glad you liked the Sunset Suite. I hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Amy, the Innkeeper, along with making us feel like a member of the family is also a fabulous chef. The breakfast was awesome! Hot coffee ready when we woke up Sunday morning with doors open to the porch which surrounds most of the building. Even a swing on the porch to sip your coffee or tea from. Her inn is absolutely beautiful. She spent time with us upon arrival to ensure we knew the history of the inn and provided us with Diet Cokes upon arriving. We stayed in Holly Marie, the only room with a king bed which is actually two twin beds miraculously remade - I say miraculously remade made as the beds are over 200 years old. We hope to go back this autumn and experience the fall foliage. Be sure to ask Amy about the stained and leaded glass.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Holly Marie room - the bed was over 200 years old. In the turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAT159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I are avid B&Bers and have been so for over 30 years. The service we received fom the innleeper at The Mandolin Inn is among the best service we have ever received. THe inkkeeper took the time to greet us and easily shared information about the house and the city. She found out our interests and provided information that made our visit memorable. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The antique furnishing suited the house perfectly. The house was convenient to the downtown area which we were planning to explore. And finally the breakfasts truly were gourmet and beautifully presented, shirred eggs florentine wrapped in prociutto, rosemary potatoes, melon strips and mixed berries. The coffee was ready early and hot throughout breakfast. I rarely return to a B&B I've visited as I look forward to trying something new, but this B&B is worthy of many happy returns!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSiouxFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Group trip - we stayed in 4 of the rooms at the Mandolin Inn for a weekend. Great location in Dubuque - walking distance of historic downtown and restaurants. Rooms were very nice, clean and decent sized, particularly given that they're in a 1908 house.

Owner is very welcoming (drinks in our hands within 3 minutes of walking through the door) and very eager to make sure experience is a good one.

There are 2 cats living throughout the house.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centralillinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 199 Loras Blvd, Dubuque, IA 52001-4857
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic property dedicated to sharing the elegance and charm of an earlier time with a few discerning guests. Modern ammenities (central air, wireless internet access,tv,queen and king beds,)gorgeous antiques, gourmet breakfast. Perfect for romance, business travel, family get-togethers, girls' getaways, weddings, or exploring the historic upper Mississippi River. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandolin Inn Bed And Breakfast Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing