We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old house, friendly host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did a Valentine Days one night stay. The host arranged to meet us early. The room was clean, a bit cluttered, but the furniture was well maintained. The bath shower arranged was creative, but functional. The lower level of the house was beautifully restored, and well maintained. The owner has plenty of personality, she spins thread, has cats, and likes to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarkiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you two stay here! - I'll take your remark about clutter under advisement and contact you about specifics. You are the first to suggest this, but I'm assuming you think the room doesn't need two seats. I'll also poll other guests. Thanks for your input. - Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Neither of us had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We really needed a weekend get-away and didn't want to go to a cold/impersonal hotel.

Amy, the inn keeper was a wealth of information, an awesome cook, a great conversationalist and provided the personal touches that made our first bed and breakfast experience the best ever.

We stayed in the Solarium room with our own bathroom (claw foot tub) and private patio. The house and grounds were well maintained. When we came back to the Mandolin Inn from the day's activities it was like coming home.

Debbie and Eolo
Des Moines, Iowa

Room Tip: The Solarium is a very bright room, but the shades on each window make it dark enough to sleep in. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_Eolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you guys stay here. Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast in Dubuque. Amy made us feel welcome and at home. She shared delightful information about the history of the mansion, the furnishings, and local lore. The house is beautifully restored and furnished with time period items. We stayed in the third floor suite, with its private bath. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Everything was first rate. The breakfast was delicious. Amy is a terrific host and this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the third floor suite and it was large and worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

It was such a treat to have you guys stay here. I'm glad you liked the Sunset Suite. I hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Amy, the Innkeeper, along with making us feel like a member of the family is also a fabulous chef. The breakfast was awesome! Hot coffee ready when we woke up Sunday morning with doors open to the porch which surrounds most of the building. Even a swing on the porch to sip your coffee or tea from. Her inn is absolutely beautiful. She spent time with us upon arrival to ensure we knew the history of the inn and provided us with Diet Cokes upon arriving. We stayed in Holly Marie, the only room with a king bed which is actually two twin beds miraculously remade - I say miraculously remade made as the beds are over 200 years old. We hope to go back this autumn and experience the fall foliage. Be sure to ask Amy about the stained and leaded glass.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Holly Marie room - the bed was over 200 years old. In the turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAT159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I are avid B&Bers and have been so for over 30 years. The service we received fom the innleeper at The Mandolin Inn is among the best service we have ever received. THe inkkeeper took the time to greet us and easily shared information about the house and the city. She found out our interests and provided information that made our visit memorable. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The antique furnishing suited the house perfectly. The house was convenient to the downtown area which we were planning to explore. And finally the breakfasts truly were gourmet and beautifully presented, shirred eggs florentine wrapped in prociutto, rosemary potatoes, melon strips and mixed berries. The coffee was ready early and hot throughout breakfast. I rarely return to a B&B I've visited as I look forward to trying something new, but this B&B is worthy of many happy returns!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSiouxFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Group trip - we stayed in 4 of the rooms at the Mandolin Inn for a weekend. Great location in Dubuque - walking distance of historic downtown and restaurants. Rooms were very nice, clean and decent sized, particularly given that they're in a 1908 house.

Owner is very welcoming (drinks in our hands within 3 minutes of walking through the door) and very eager to make sure experience is a good one.

There are 2 cats living throughout the house.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centralillinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Superb historic Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful Innkeeper who makes you feel at home. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From available games and movies for kids and family, to the unique antiques, nothing has been left out to make your stay a memorable experience. And the breakfast was A+++. Highly recommend and we definately will return on our next trip into town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galegacy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#16 of 17 in Dubuque
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolin Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 199 Loras Blvd, Dubuque, IA 52001-4857
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic property dedicated to sharing the elegance and charm of an earlier time with a few discerning guests. Modern ammenities (central air, wireless internet access,tv,queen and king beds,)gorgeous antiques, gourmet breakfast. Perfect for romance, business travel, family get-togethers, girls' getaways, weddings, or exploring the historic upper Mississippi River. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandolin Inn Bed And Breakfast Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing