We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hancock House B and B
Ranked #1 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding B & B”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The owners here are wonderful, and the breakfast is just as good. The rooms are clean our favorite is the Doll House Room. We love the beverage center and the view from the front deck is to die for. Their beds all have feather tops on top of them and they are the best, so good that we asked them where we could buy them! This is a very victorian bed and breakfast and they have done a great up at upkeeping the inside and outside of the house. We used to stay at a place downtown in Galena but this is our new favorite. Thank you for making it special for my husband and I.

Room Tip: One with a whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 493AshleyC493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
105
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The most outstanding aspect of this B&B is the cleanliness - it is immaculate. Victorian theme is the decor but it is done in a lovely tasteful manner - not overdone as in some Victorian B&Bs. The original fireplaces are unusual and the rooms are very spacious. Although located in town, the noises of city living were absent. Of course, it was too cold to have open windows, but I think you would simply hear song birds high on this hill in Dubuque. Susan and Chuck were were warm and welcoming hosts, but not intrusive and their guest kitchenette was full of refreshments. When passing through Dubuque on our to and fro visits between Michigan and Iowa, we definitely will stay with them again. Thank you for sharing your home.

Room Tip: Stayed in one, but viewed them all and would try each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have treated ourselves to Chuck and Susan's hospitality three times, and each time we have been impressed by the house, service and breakfast! We stayed in the Dollroom on the third floor with a whirlpool tub in the Queen Anne style turret overlooking downtown. The view was amazing. Make sure you allow plenty of time for breakfast and conversation with Chuck and Susan in the morning.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a beautiful view of downtown Dubuque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My teenage son and I stayed for several weeks at the Hancock House last Summer. Chuck & Susan were great! They were so inviting and helpful and made us feel like family. The accommodations allowed us to enjoy our first visit to Iowa which was such a delight! And their breakfast was deliciousand plentiful! Their house is absolutely gorgeous and quite comfortable. We just had such a great time at their B&B , we can't wait to return and visit them and their happy dog!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time in Dubuque and at The Hancock House. Our stay was absolutely magnificent. Chuck and Susan were such gracious hosts and Chuck was so kind to show us around the house and tell us all about the history of the home and antiques! Our room was fantastic and relaxing and we definately plan on going back! Thanks Chuck and Susan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second stay with Chuck & Susan, the lovely hosts at Hancock House! This is my absolute favorite B&B. The house is always warm & inviting, filled with period decor and antiques, each of the bedrooms is wonderfully decorated with each having a personality all their own! Chuck always has lots of stories and information and Susan is a fantastic cook! The breakfasts are truly delightful!! My plan is to stay in about every room in the house! If you're in Dubuque, this is the place to stay!!! (Call early though, they fill up quickly!!!!)

Room Tip: The rooms facing downtown have the most spectacular views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was too late to book the hotel with the relatives and found this B&B on TA. I was the lucky one; no soulless hotel for me. Beautiful house, not too fussy, great hosts, tasty breakfasts, cookies all the time, wine in the fridge. I had a back bedroom and that was perfect because it was quiet. No view, but I can't see much when I'm sleeping. I arrived early and was able to look in all the rooms. They were all wonderful. The rooms in front had great views and were large and well appointed. Loved the marble bathrooms. The neighborhood is very walkable and close to everything. You can really walk everywhere if you don't mind the hills. The owners were very helpful in helping me get to where I needed to be whether it was on foot or in a car. Very close to great knitting store and restaurants too!

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views. Back rooms are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
605 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House B and B

Property: Hancock House B and B
Address: 1105 Grove Ter, Dubuque, IA 52001-4644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock House offers 9 rooms all with private baths and queen size beds. We serve a full breakfast and also have a complimentary beverage center. Enjoy our beautiful view from two parlors and the wrap around front porch with swings and furniture. Great place for reunions and friends to gather. Restored Queen Anne and decorated with period furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock House B And B Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing