We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dubuque debacle” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dubuque debacle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This has to be the worst Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in (as an 8 year HHonors Diamond Member). The gentlemen at the front desk were in a huge hurry and very discourteous. This hotel is in dyer need of an update and a good cleaning. Whoever is cleaning the hallways, as they were very dusty and dirty close to the floor molding, need further training. Rooms are as small as the rooms years ago. Floor is filthy, dusty, food on the floor behind the beds. Kleenex on the floor under the bed. No toilet paper in the mens room on the first floor and someone forgot to flush. Will never stay in Dubuque again. Would be worth driving a little bit farther or before to get a better quality stay. I hope the breakfast is better than the condition of the hotel and room.

Room Tip: They might be friendlier during the week when they are not as busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    147
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
226
176
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This spot is very clean, convenient for traveling, restaurants and shopping within walking distance, great pool/spa; overall, breakfast was excellent except the oatmeal was lumpy and cold for all three days of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orland park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

outstanding care and service breakfast was free and staff took care of all the little kids that came in with their familys.Quick check in and out process.Staff knows area very well and helpful in suggesting places and things to do around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here while attending a wedding in nearby Galena (holiday weekend was impossible to find a 1 night stay in Galena). Hotel was very easy to find right off the road and in an area with lots of shopping and restaurants. Front desk staff was very friendly and our room was very clean and almost seemed like it was recently updated. I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent one night here. I really like that they wash the duvet covers in between guests--makes one feel much more at home as everything is clean and I didn't have to fuss at the kids to stay off of the beds. The breakfast was good--standard, but well executed. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank The_As_and_the_Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean, modern,with plenty of plugs for two people to recharge all their electronics. Beds and pillows were unusually comfortable. Room was very quiet. But the best thing was the complimentary breakfast! Everything from fresh fruit and pastries to a cute little flat scrambled egg with cheese inside. I highly recommend

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBuque, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the first time in all our stays at a Hampton Inn's that we were greeted personally multiple times using our last names. This was a special touch! Extremely nice motel, with a great staff. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dubuque

Property: Hampton Inn Dubuque
Address: 3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing