We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous Staff Makes This Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Villa, IL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Courteous Staff Makes This Hotel!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn the first weekend in February.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. We needed ideas for dinner the first night, and the front desk gave us a nice restaurant suggestion. The room was clean, and the shower was new and actually spacious (We had a room with just a shower, no tub).The breakfast was a typical Hampton Inn breakfast, so it had a good variety of choices. It snowed the first night we were there, and the snow removal person was there bright and early the next morning to be sure we could all get out and on our way.

Room Tip: My husband and I both really liked the shower. If you don't need a tub, you might ask for a simi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    157
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
233
186
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great rooms, Great Breakfast! Clean Hotel - easy check in and check out! I missed out on saving $10 by not booking sooner. I booked our room within a week of our stay and the price went up. Also didn't know that there was breakfast offered and was pleasantly surprised when we saw the wonderful options for breakfast. Nice facility!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff was courteous and informative. I was impressed with the quality of the room. The TV was new and big. The temperature stayed nice and even. Everything was clean and odor-free. The only thing that bothered me (very minor) was that it was not easy to sit up in the bed to watch TV. The pillows were very soft, and great for sleeping, but not good for sitting up against the head board. Everything else was so good that I feel like I can't complain. To top it off, I really didn't spend very much at all. This is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great service and great location breakfast was great Steve at the front desk is Awesome. Great beds Pool was a little warm outside but the water was great. There was a post-it note on the headboard of the bed that said the duvets were clean. It was a quite area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were visiting my brother in Dubuque over the Christmas holiday and needed shelter for my family of five. The first criterion in my selection was that the hotel must be a Hilton property, as I was jonesing for HHonors points and achieving the coveted "Silver" member level. The Hampton - Dubuque was apparently located centrally, had good marks from prior TripAdvisor members, and was reasonably priced at $89/$99 for our 2-night stay.

The hotel is located "up the hill" from historic on-the-river Dubuque, and is right in the thick of the major shopping area in town. The hotel is about a 200-yard walk from both Target and HyVee, so you have extremely easy access to virtually any grocery, drink, or merchandise that you might need. A couple of blocks across the highway is a plethora of major stores and restaurants. The outside of the hotel is hardly prepossessing, but is standard for a mid-scale hotel of this type. The lobby is well-kept and comfortable, and the breakfast area decently-sized. We did not have time to use the pool area, so I can't comment on that.

Our room was comfortable, if slightly on the small side. Having five in our family, we needed a rollaway bed, and there was really no place to put it. It ended up in the hall by the front door, leaving only about six inches of space to get by it to access the bathroom or leave the room. There was also no place for an easy chair, so the only place to sit down besides the beds was the desk chair. The room would have achieved much higher marks in my book were it slightly larger and including an easy chair.

The queen beds were very comfortable, but I'd advise bringing your own pillows, as the hotel's were smallish but "thick," prompting an awkward neck angle. TV, desk, lamp, chest were all standard. I did think that there were more outlets than I often find in a hotel, making it easier to charge all the gadgets that families seem to have these days. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and I really liked the showerhead with its full, even spray.

One major criterion of mine for virtually ALL hotels is that they have a breakfast included. It's just my way. The Hampton's breakfast was solid, if not spectacular. There were hot options (differing by day) of scrambled eggs, sausage, fried eggs, and sausage patties (for making an egg-sausage sandwich). There were also cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, milk, coffee, and juices. The breakfast area was clean and stocked promptly, and we were able to get a table even during the busy time on Sunday morning.

I am usually pleased by the mid-tier combination of amenities and value that Hampton Inns offer, and this was no exception. It is well-located, well-run (very pleasant staff that was responsive to our few requests), well-kept, and a sensible choice for a family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavageDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a 3rd floor room. The room was comfortable. Upon arrival to the room, we noticed post-it notes on each of the headboards stating that we had clean duvets. I know it is part of their marketing campaign but it made me wonder about other hotels and their policy on changing duvets, comforters, bedspreads, etc.. Sheets and towels seemed a bit thin. Coffee maker and ice bucket are housed in the bathroom. This to me is grotesque. Move them into the room. Also, there wasn't a refrigerator. Staff was attentive in keeping the outside walkways clear of ice and snow. Front desk staff was professional but not friendly. Breakfast was nothing to get excited about other than it was free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay nice clean room super comfortable beds rate amongst best to date.Indoor pool and whirlpool were very relaxing.
We found the breakfast to be what we wanted even grabbed a breakfast to go bag on the way out which was nice snack while continuing along our road trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dubuque

Property: Hampton Inn Dubuque
Address: 3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing