We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I was reluctant to book based on the current reviews but in the end we ended up here at the Hilton for Memorial Weekend. We were so pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was including the breakfast each morning. I do agree that the hotel has thin walls. Other than that, we had a wonderful stay. I also want to mention that the front desk staff were very friendly, professional and helpful throughout the weekend which made the stay even better. I would definately return to this hotel (which says a lot!)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WeekendTravelerx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 568 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Hilton Garden Inn while in Dubuque for an event at the yacht basin across the street. I would not have reserved this hotel because of the negative reviews on this site, but was cajoled by another attendee to stay where everyone else in our group was staying. What a pleasant surprise! The hotel was substantially better than average; not at all as I expected.

There is ample free parking. The lobby is large, airy and bright with comfortable sofas gathered around a central fireplace. The front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating. Our room on the 3rd floor was large and nicely laid out, with a good-sized separate bar area with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and decent counter space for storing and serving food. Use of this area kept the desk and armoire free of food and drink debris, which I appreciated. The beds and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and linens were of good quality. There were plenty of large, fluffy towels in the bathroom, which was supplied with a hair dryer and the usual array of shampoo, conditioner, creams and soaps. The room was immaculately clean, the black-out curtains functioned as intended (a big deal to me), and I never heard any sounds from any adjoining rooms or the hallways, even though our floor seemed to be rather well-occupied and there were several wedding parties staying for the weekend. The big-screen TV was a nice touch, although we weren't in the room enough to take advantage of it. The closet had a decent supply of wooden, removable (thank you) hangers, full-size ironing board and iron.

Breakfast was an unexpected treat. Unlike the "free" breakfast buffets found at many chain restaurants (and the unruly masses they tend to attract), breakfast at the Hilton Garden Inn was a reasonable $7.95 and included made-to-order eggs, pancakes, waffles, as well as a decent selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, pastries, juices, milk and coffee. The breakfast area was roomy and light with windows on two sides, tables and booths spaced comfortably apart. Service was attentive and the food was quite good. Best of all, the meal was calm and quiet.

Another unexpected treat was the rental of bicycles (and helmets) available at the front desk for just $5/hour. Although I wasn't able to take advantage of the bikes, I did enjoy a long walk on the biking/hiking trail that leads from the hotel along the water. Had the weather not cooperated, the fitness room looked well fitted out. At tne end of my walk, I was fortunate enough to find the indoor pool completely empty and enjoyed a few laps in the cool, clean water. The pool room is large, airy and pleasant with a number of tables and chairs and a good-sized jacuzzi.

The hotel is attached to a casino and greyhound racetrack. We didn't check out either one, but weren't bothered by them, either. Unfortunately, the only views from the hotel seem to be of the parking lot or the track/casino -- kind of a shame since it's on a little island surrounded by the river.

All in all, we had an excellent stay. Perhaps the hotel has worked out some of the kinks noted in earlier reviews (although the complaints about noise still puzzle me). We travel frequently and I research hotels and restaurants carefully. I'm glad the TripAdvisor reviews didn't scare me away from this one.

By the way, we had an outstanding lunch at Catfish Charlie's in the yacht basin. That was another surprise. The location and menu made us suspect it was a tourist trap to be avoided, but when we wanted the company of several of our friends and they chose to eat there, we went along. The catfish was some of the best we've ever eaten, and we're big catfish fans. The view from the deck is special.

Check out the Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium. We were lucky enough to have our event dinner there and were free to roam the place after hours, but I would recommend it to anyone, especially with kids.

We've never been to Dubuque before, and most likely will not return, but our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was unexpectedly pleasant. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Sunsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

This new hotel is shoddily built with the cheapest of building materials. I have stayed in dorms nicer than this place. The cheap carpets in the stairways stunk. The walls in the rooms were paper-thin. We could hear every thing going on in the rooms around us (and I mean EVERY thing). Even though the beds were supposedly state-of-the-art, the sheets felt like sandpaper. I woke up with a rash! The reservations staff was rude and short with me. I had to speak to a manager just to get a room. Then when guaranteed a river-view, I instead got a lovely view of a dog track. They had outdoor speakers going off every few minutes for the gamblers, until about 3AM. DO NOT bring your children to this hotel! Do not plan to get any rest either. The only thing we enjoyed was the whirlpool (which closed ridulously early) and our dinner at Houlihan's.

7  Thank loripleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
minneapolis
18
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My Mom and I checked in on a Friday. We ordered a movie for $10.99,(yes$10.99) on the tv and 1/2 hour into it one of the hotel girls knocked on the door and said we have had 2 complaints and to hold it down! She treated us like we were party animals. And her attitude was awful. We were in our pajamas and in bed. The walls are paper thin. I could hear every word the guy next to us said. The price you pay for the rooms there you would expect a free danish and coffe in the morning, right? No way $5.95 is what you have to pay! The main reason I chose the hotel was for the sleep number bed. Well after we get in the room is when i had to find out that those are only in the rooms with king size beds, ridulous! If you plan on watching tv or even talking for that matter Do Not go to the Hilton, you will have a snotty girl knock on your door and treat you like a criminal.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

The Hilton Garden Inn in Dubuque is brand new. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean,however they are a little on the small side. They have adjustable firmness beds with cozy wool under the sheets. It was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept on. The convenience to the casino was very nice. I would consider it a very nice place to stay. It is a litlle pricey. But, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Muktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank chirurg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,274 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
661 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $103 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing