We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Rooms were very nice, lobby was huge and comfy, and the pool area was great. I didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, but you had to pay for it. My bigger issue here was that the Front Desk Staff seemed annoyed when we checked in, and rushed us through check in despite the fact that no one else was waiting. All of our questions, including one about joining the Hilton Rewards program, were met with heavy sighs and resistance. The restaurant, Houlihans, was ok, but seems like it was having some staffing issues as one brand new server had all of the tables. This created a bit of a long wait for dinner. All in all, a good place to stay, but it seemed like the staff were unhappy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review my hotel. Our location and amenities we offer provide something for everyone! I will revisit our guest service with the front desk and service team, we do strive to provide a guest experience of "WOW" service to create a culture of guest loyalty to our property. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    178
    63
    33
    21
See reviews for
118
241
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My overall experience was very good but my advise is to skip the breakfast and eat at the casino. I had a muffin, a yogurt, and a cup of coffee and the bill was almost $10. Lesson learned. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to compliment my hotel! We do offer Bed and Breakfast packages that include breakfast at a nominal price. Mystique Casino does serve lunch and dinner, as well as, we do serve lunch and dinner at our Houlihan's restaurant on site at our hotel. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock IL, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Needs a little more reasonable price for food.. The staff was excellent. The food was very good. Some od the fruit was not fresh and one was tooo fresh and hard. A little more help from the staff would have made the breakfast better for we didn't know what was included in what price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! We do have outstanding restaurants on site, including Houlihan's and our Great American Grill, that we do serve cook to order breakfast daily. As far as packages, we do offer a Bed and Breakfast package that includes breakfast for two included with the room at a nominal price. Please inquire for your next stay with us, we would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was clean & staff respectful enough but the crazy overpriced breakfast 'thing' & the inability to choose specifics of the room say I wouldn't stay here if it weren't for the casino & restaraunt attached.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to compliment my hotel. We are located right next to Houlihan's and Mystique Casino, all indoor walkways, with several other options for dining. Breakfast is avaiable for a nominal fee in our Bed and Breakfast package, please inquire at the front desk for package availabilty.

Room descriptions are provided online when you select your room type, listing all available options, and you can inquire at time of reservation when you call in as we do have details information for you to help you decide.

Thanks again for your feedback, I look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Hilton Garden Inn. The room was clean and comfortable., but over priced. Because the motel is attached to the casino, we purchased the package that included some gaming money and a meal at Houlihans restaurant, which is also attached. I had been warned to ask at check-in about the breakfast. We used Hilton points and we were glad because the breakfast is way over-priced. Although the breakfast is "made to order," there is one price regardless of how much or how little one wants to eat. The desk clerk was not at all friendly and if I had not read on Trip Advisor about the breakfast, I would not have known that Hilton Honors members had any options. Check out all of the promotions and options if you make reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank-you for the compliments! I certainly will share with my staff and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoy our stays at this property. The property is very clean, the prices are quite fair, and the morning breakfast is very good. It's attached to the casino, so if friends want to go out, they can walk, or you can chill in the room and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulsacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank-you for your complimets regarding your stay at my hotel! The walking trails are incrediable as they follow the river around the Island. Certainly is nice for a bike ride or a short walk! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband was there with about 150 other guys in a fishing tournament and so I decided to go, stay alone in my own room, and wander the countryside during the days. I checked in earlier than I thought I should, but they let me. The restuarants I needed were of course close by and I ate breakfast at the hotel itself. I found it to be clean and the staff helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank susieq19522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your compliments of our hotel! We do value your opinion and look forward to seeing you soon! We do have a variety of amenities, something for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing