We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$150
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque(Dubuque)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
$99
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
291
189
72
37
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
189
72
37
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog trackhoulihan's restaurantattached casinogreyhound trackmade to order breakfastnice hotelfire pitgreat place to stayroom was cleancontinental breakfastconvenient locationmississippi riverwould stay here againvery nice stayget awaystaff was friendlyhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 612 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Hilton is not as good as others bearing the brand. It is the only one in Dubuque with inside access to dog track and casino so you will have to use if you want to stay at the casino. The rooms are ok but the beds are so old and worn out that you may end up in the middle as my wife and I did. Also the walls are not soundproof as the should be. Clean but worn out. Chairs in lobby dinning area are very bad and worn down so it may surprise you when you fall into the chair. To be fair it is still an ok place but really needs some upgrades in furniture and beds.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at my hotel. We are in the planning of renovating our lobby furnishings, and bedding within the guest rooms. We certainly aim to maintain the high quality for our guests, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the past few years and always find ALL of the employees to be helpful and friendly. We agree that the bedding needs updating. The beds used to be much more comfortable. We love the hot breakfast and the hotel is always very clean. We will stay here again next time in Dubuque!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to review my hotel! We do offer something for everyone, from gaming to restaurants! Also walking trails nearby! We are in the process of renovating our hotel, within the rooms, we will see all new amenities, to improve our guest experience. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is attached to a casino, and my room on the back side of the hotel overlooked the dog racing track. You must buy a package to get free breakfast, or be at least a HHonors gold member. The breakfast was delicious....any kind of omelette or eggs you want, along with made to order pancakes or French toast. They also have bacon, sausage and hash browns. Muffins, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, & bagels are on the cheaper continental breakfast. The fitness room is fantastic with two treadmills, two ellipticals, a bike, free weights, and a weight machine.

I received a free drink ticket good for beer out of the pavilion pantry, and coffee and cookies are available during the day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your compliments regarding our hotel! We do apprieciate your comments, our fitness room is outstanding, and the casino is located right down an inclosed hallway! Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very Affordable ~ Spacious like new Suites at the HG Inn are sweet ~~ I walked in the room and it was a good 50' deep !! with large adjoining bedroom! Can't go wrong with this deal~ ! the Casino is just down a inside corridor ~ 100 yards away from the hotel lobby !! fun fun fun!

Room Tip: you may phone in & get the internet rate
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaCityTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your compliments! Our property is located right down the enclosed hallway, very convenient to access the casino for fun! With Houlihan's right next door, we have everything you need for a relaxing getaway! Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stay at Hiltons with some regularity. This hotel has all the usual amenities (great fitness area, well designed common areas, spacious dining areas with plug ins for business travelers). That said, there are several issues that need to be addressed at this hotel. The mattress in room 242 needs to be replaced. Judging from the other comments, there are several mattresses that need to be replaced.

We could hear the people above us stomping around in the morning. The hotel was very busy when we were there (March 1 - 3). I'm not sure that there is much that can be done as this is a design flaw.

The breakfast on site was expensive ($13/person) and mediocre. The fruit wasn't ripe except for the apples, oranges and bananas. The oatmeal was tasteless. The add ins were ancient (the brown sugar was hard as a rock). At the very least, make sure the add on items for the oatmeal are fresh.

The coffee at this location is horrible. It didn't matter if it was made in the room or the coffee in the lobby - I couldn't believe how bad it tasted. They need to filter the water or do something to make that coffee drinkable.

They did have a great deal with Hoolihan's restaurant (attached to the hotel) on the weekend we stayed. If you spent $25 at Hoolihan's you received 500 Hilton Honors points. If you spent $50 at Hoolihan's, you received 1000 points. Unfortunately, the restaurant doesn't open until 11 am. If it was open earlier, I would recommend going there for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your your coffee and breakfast, I have brought your comment to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews