We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is new and clean. We had a great night's sleep on our road trip out west. The breakfast was well worth the money!

I gave the location one less point for being connected to a casino. Lots of late night traffic through the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indygrits99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank-you very much for the compliments regarding my hotel and staff! I will pass them along and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 571 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is very easy to get to and is connected to the Mystique Casino and Houlihan's restaurant. If you're going to the casino, it doesn't get any more convenient. The lobby is sparkling and our room was clean. We enjoyed the made-to-order hot breakfasts; you get your choice of typical breakfast fare such as eggs in many styles, omelettes, bacon, ham, pancakes, etc. The beds have an adjustable firmness system; we only found this out by seeing one of the signs in the elevator; we didn't see it mentioned prominently in the room. It made for a very rough first night for my wife. Once we found that little dial tucked into the mattress under the bed cover and reduced the firmness, she slept great the remaining two nights. Our room actually had a view of the greyhound track; it was fun to watch the races. The hotel pool was sparkling clean. Overall a very good experience. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auto_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks so much for the wonderful comments regarding my hotel and all of it's amenities! We have everything you need for a relaxing stay, filled with gaming, restaurants and just relaxing by the pool! Please feel free to reach out to me directly to help plan your next visit with us! Thanks again for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nothing special , comfortable roooms a bit loud( thin walls) no continental breakfast just a pricey breakfast instead) would I stay there again = yes
We stayed there on a weekend Harley trip and we enjoyed our trip.
Coffee was great but there food was over priced but all and all I would stay ther again.
the pool and hot tub were nice, everyone was gambling so my wife and i enjoyed it by ourselfs. :-)

Room Tip: We stayed there on a weekend Harley trip and we enjoyed our trip. Coffee was great but there food w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBrowoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for your comments regarding my hotel! We certainly do have a wonderful pool and spa are, I am glad you enjoyed it so much. We do serve cook to order breakfast for $13.95, omlets, eggs to order, bacon, waffels, pancakes, and all the continential side you can possibly enjoy. Please call me directly on your next visit, I would love to make the arrangements for you, and treat you to breakfast as well! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have stayed here before and are never disappointed. Always clean, always friendly, helpful staff and great location next to Mystique casino. We paid "full price" which was very reasonable for the accomodations provided. It is always quiet (no kids running the halls and yelling) and easy to find parking. No negatives to report.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thanks again for your compliments regarding my hotel and staff! I will certainly pass them along! If I can assist you with anything on a future visit, please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Can't say there was anything particularly outstanding about this place, but I always prefer consistency over surprises. The casino (too smoky for us to stay) is attached on one side (along with the dog racing park). There's a Houlihan's on the other end. The whole complex sits on an island in the river (on the Iowa side). It's a very short drive into the central Dubuque district and you can find some interesting bars (Busted Lift and Hub) along with a few restaurants. Best deal we found: Paul's Tavern ($1.50 Old Style beers and $2.50 burgers!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thanks again for the compliments on our property! It is very convenient with the hotel, Houlihan's and Mystique Casino all located under one roof! And yes, Paul's Tap is awesome! Those burgers are incrediable! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This HGI is just over the bridge from Wisconsin, on the approach to downtown Dubuque. Getting into the downtown area from here is easy. Parking is plentiful and free. It is adjacent to one of the few greyhound racing parks still operating, so it might be busy and noisy when races are going on. We came to visit the national mississippi river museum and aquarium, about 2.5 miles from the hotel.

Accommodations are standard for this Hilton brand and the hotel was very clean. Wifi is free and worked well. We experienced no problems during our stay. There is an independent full service restaurant attached. There is a nice ped/bike trail on the north and west side of the hotel that goes over to Riverview Park; it makes for a nice evening walk by the river if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank-you for the compliments on our property! We are located right next to Mystique Casino, and are connected with a walkway. The outdoor walking trails are awesome for an early morning walk or bike ride! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband & I (and occasionally another couple traveling with us) have stayed at the HGI possibly a dozen times over the past several years. It just occurred to me that I have never written a review. Originally we stayed here because of the convenient location next to the Mystique Casino/Dog Track. Then we started bringing our watercraft so that we could spend time (to get out of the casino) on the Mississippi River and there is a boat landing conveniently located about 3 minutes away. The HGI is exceptional. The rooms have been updated and are very clean, the employees are VERY pleasant and helpful (if help is needed), and the pool area is nice/clean as well as the outside grounds. The beds are really comfortable. We stay here every time we are in Dubuque. A perfect ending to this review would be if HGI could just help us WIN at the casino! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKW0056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thnak-you so much for staying with us! We certainly will share your compliments with our staff! It is a great destination for boaters to dock, call our shuttle and begin to enjoy our hotel, restaurants and casino! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,278 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $103 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing