We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from above”
Review of Eagle Point Park

Eagle Point Park
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Park City, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The view from above”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's very interesting to see the view of the Mississippi River and all the scenery. Then I saw the river looking north, south and across to the east.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    85
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dubuque should be proud”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife & I visited the park on a sunny afternoon, enjoyed the wonderful views over the river as well as the very unique & highly individualized architecture to each of the various park buildings in the park. Very expansive in size, and very quiet for our weekday visit. A nominal entry fee is well worth the stay, for a picnic or just a walk or opportunity to relax in this gem of a park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great city park”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is located on a bluff along the Mississippi River with lots of great views. There are numerous picnic areas, play areas, and shelter houses. My favorite was the large koi pond. A lot of structures in the park are WPA projects and are beautiful. Be advised that there is a $1 fee per car for entering the park. My only complaint is that restrooms are few and centrally located.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful park to explore. The views from the park are amazing. The only drawback is Dubuque does not allow your family dog in the park (even leashed). Sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is one of my favorite locations. This park is beautiful, situated on the high bluffs of the Mississippi River with spectacular views of WIsconsin, Illinois, and Iowa. This 164 acre park is very natural and has a lot of lush vegetation. This park opened in 1909, has structures and pavilions created under the direction of landscape architect, Alfred Caldwell, using the native limestone that was part of the natural setting. If you are in this area do not miss this opportunity to commune with nature and enjoy some blissful serenity at this location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pchiffon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle Point Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing