We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Wheaton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good price, great location”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Easy check in, nice room with beautiful view. Enjoyed Tony Roma's restaurant. Very patient with our group which consisted of two moms and six boys!!!! Very nice outdoor eating area with beautiful view of River. We got package that included waterpark and Mississippi River Aquarium. Aquarium exceeded my expectations. Waterpark is small and only something to occupy kids in between other activities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taccc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    445
    351
    193
    94
See reviews for
988
262
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for a conference held at the convention center next door. The check-in was easy and the staff were friendly. They gave me a room with a view over the Mississippi, so I could watch barges and paddle boats on the river. The room wasn't anything fancy, but it was fine for anyone attending an event nearby or for families visiting the waterpark. There was BBQ sauce on the desk and the curtains. Most likely a previous visitor in my room had ordered room service from Tony Roma's, the hotel restaurant. The maid must have missed that and the used wash cloth hanging from the shower curtain rod. The place was busy, so they probably cleaned rooms in a rush.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the hallway will cut down on the noise from kids returning from the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernazzaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I accompanied my wife here for a business trip, and we chose this for our location. What a good choice! Museum of waterfront close by, shopping close by, casino close by, and a great wine shop. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. A great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santadan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Chose to stay here since we were coming from out of town to attend a wedding reception here. Even though i found hotels and a much cheaper rate i thought my kids would enjoy the waterpark and arcade and i would bite the bullet and pay the cost of the room here. When we get to our room we opened the door and my husband said, "it smells like a moldy refridgerator in here!" I walked over to the ac unit and there was black mold growing all over inside. Having a son with mold allergies i went down to the desk and told them about it. They were extremely nice about it and said they would come up and clean the unit, febreeze the room, and put in an ozone maching during our stay (which was thankfully only one night, and they did do right away) While down at reception talking to them i overheard another person on the phone telling another guest that they would bring an ozone maching into thier room also. Im assuming the mold is a problem thru the entire hotel, especially after visiting my relatives room and seeing thier moldy ac unit also on another floor of the hotel. The water park was so dirty and the upkeep was horrible. Peeling paint on the structures and the floors were so dirty i felt like going back to the room asap. The arcade was bad too, dark and dirty and smelled so musty. I couldnt wait to get out of there and sanitize me children. We had p lenty of fun things to do outside thr hotel that we didnt have to spend much time here. So if you are thinking of taking a weekend here, STAY ANYWHERE ELSE! It will be more clean and less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkcl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought it looked better in pictures, The rooms run on the small side and amenities weren't great. Breakfast is not included and the in-house restaurant was over-priced. We requested a roll-a-way bed, which was awful!!! I don't think I'd go back at any price

Room Tip: request a river view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved the location, very clean rooms. With a child, it's a no-brainer. Our three year old loved the water park, and it's a short walk to the museum. And the staff was so friendly: when she fell and scraped her knee, someone was there right away to clean it up, and the doorman gave her a little toy. So nice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolins S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Clean, great location, great view with casino, and nice aquarium a block away. Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff. No issues, great value, slept peacefully. Water park is not huge, but kids thoughts it was great - played for hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh383838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
624 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Property: Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing