We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kids love it”

National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium features the culture, creatures and history of our the Mississippi and all our nation's rivers through dynamic exhibits and twelve large aquariums housed in two main centers. The impressive 14-acre riverfront campus includes a connecting plaza, a 3D/4D theater, boatyard, on-site dining options, and more! DIVE IN for a visit to the Museum & Aquarium, where fun & learning flow together!
Iowa City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“kids love it”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have become regulars at the museum and aquarium. The kids love to see the displays and they learn something new every time we have gone. It is a great resource for children and adults alike to learn about Iowa history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fatimah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    295
    86
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aplington, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for kids and adults”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I recently visited the Museum & Aquarium for the first time with my kids (ages 5 & 6) and we all enjoyed our trip. The special turtle exhibit is very interesting. If you have younger kids, they will especially enjoy Tom Sawyer's cave and RiverWorks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank woogiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Mississippi River Museum”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Really enjoyed this and loved the turtle display. So many neat river artifacts. We would recommend this Museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverMuseumDBQ, marketing at National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Google Translation
We're glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
168 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A very big museum. Initially there wasn't as much to see there, but now there is enough to keep you busy for hours and hours, especially if you go when it is warm and you can enjoy all the outside exhibits as well. Great for kid and adults. Check to see what special events are happening. My son got to "pet" a snake here during a special show on snakes.
There is a large watery area for kids to play, as well as 4D movies that are pretty good and short enough for kids to sit through.
It is ok if you can't see it all in one day, they let you in for free the next day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverMuseumDBQ, marketing at National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for visiting! And thanks for the tip on special events! We have events planned all year round - Ice Fest is coming up January 11-20. And our Feature Creature programs (where your son got to pet a snake) happen every weekend day during the winter and almost every day when we switch back to summer hours Memorial Day weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the time!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Please take the time and spend the money for this memory making experience! You will learn so much and enjoy the peace of mind that you gain after spending a few hours just sharing, learning and having fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubuque0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing