We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hard to find but free”

Dubuque Arboretum and Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 49 things to do in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very nice park. Some nice tree specimens to look at. We wish they were labeled though. We asked some locals and they knew the names. Great place for a family pignick.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Maxwell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"japanese garden"
in 29 reviews
"english garden"
in 14 reviews
"rose garden"
in 11 reviews
"plants and flowers"
in 7 reviews
"koi pond"
in 10 reviews
"water features"
in 8 reviews
"full bloom"
in 5 reviews
"family pictures"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"free attraction"
in 3 reviews
"love nature"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop is"
in 3 reviews
"nice walk"
in 4 reviews
"volunteers"
in 41 reviews
"waterfall"
in 16 reviews
"hostas"
in 14 reviews
"wedding"
in 21 reviews
Filter

188 - 192 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

The arboretum is outstanding year round. Each season has its own distinction within these beautiful grounds. Trees of all kinds and beautiful flowers makes for a wonderful stroll. The Japanese garden is also a favorite.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank montalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Even though I visited in the Spring and not at the garden highlight time of the year, it was lovely. This garden is staffed only by volunteers! and its free! It's a bit difficult to find, make sure you have it mapped out first. But I definately will return.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank 5924sue813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love stopping at the Dubuque Arboretum to see what is in bloom. This all volunteer cared for garden and park is a beautiful oasis on the outskirts of the city. We were hoping to see tulips today but it looks like we missed them. Next up will be the peonies, and I've never seen so many different varieties of peonies as I did here a couple of years ago. There's lots of nice spots for picnics, and Sunday evening musical performances throughout the summer. Just a really lovely spot (and a couple of geocaches hidden here too, for those interested in a treasure hunt).

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank pdrane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place kept up by volunteers in the area who appreciate the wonder of plant life. Great place for a wedding if you are willing to chance the weather.

Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubuque Arboretum and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Dubuque Arboretum and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing