We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing! Trying to be cosmopolitan, but flavorless!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crust - CLOSED

Crust
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing! Trying to be cosmopolitan, but flavorless!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Children's meal includes pasta, sauce, and protein. Served size of 1.5 cups of pasta with very little sauce, an Italian sausage that was like a dried leather shoe with wilted casing. Child # 2 pasta, wrong sauce, and one meatball in a dixie salad dressing cup. Meatball was tasty with herbs, which was cold. Overall the pasta was boiling hot in the bottom and cold on top. Microwaved??
Chicken parm sandwich was greasy and sauce was flavorless. Served on a toasted bun, which was only toasted on the outside and slathered with butter. Served with home made chips without any seasoning.
Pizza single pepperoni $9.99 (because it was the weekend and the tourists are charged more than locals) Nothing special.

Family of 4 spent $46 with tip. For a sub-par meal. The service, was equally maddening with slow elite-est waitress. All the other customers looked as irritated as me.

Bathroom doors were propped open. I took the 2nd to last paper towel to dry my hands.

Decor is the only thing going for this place. I had watched Hell's Kitchen the night before and I thought I was living in it at lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank REVHMILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    51
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We ate here again and had good service and very good pizza. They always forget to add the fresh basil we order, but they just bring us out a cup of it and all is good. The Fresh Basil makes a huge difference in the taste. It makes a huge difference in what toppings you order. Their sauce is fairly plain, so you need to have the right toppings or it is just bland. Their specialty pizzas have all been good, but we like to order our own selections some times too. It can get pricey if you add several toppings, so just keep that in mind. It is not the cheapest pizza in town, but it is good. The drinks have been good each time we have been there. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlivin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frozen pizza is better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

From the amount it took to get our drinks (waters and a beer) and pizza (cheese and sausage with onions) we could have fired up our own oven, baked a pizza, ate it, and saved $30. Really really sub-par flavors, limited menu. A server who didn't offer any suggestions or advice when we said it was our first time there and who asked us "do you like the pizza?!" The side salads only had one dressing option: italian...which basically tasted like it came from a bottle. No seafood options anywhere. It's a decent people-watching space in downtown Dubuque, but that is where the ambience ends. I expected more and feel bad for my parents who took me out to dinner (and rarely shell out for dinner, let alone pizza) because they weren't impressed either.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Packers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
217 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A wonderfully delicious and fun place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our huge family group descended on this place, and the waiter handled us without a hitch.
There were kids, vegetarians, carnivores, etc.
No problems, they were so accommodating.
They start the meal with baskets of little pop-ems of delicious hot pizza crust- we could all have made a meal of those-
Then everything is "build your own"
pasta, pizza, or salad-
If this place was in Chicago, it was be slammed busy and full all the time.
The prices were reasonable- and food was fabulous,
My kids want to drive the 3 hours back to Dubuque just to eat here again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irisarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Try the chopped salad with beets. GREAT! The kids menu is good too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveDBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing