We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stay there every year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Maple Park, Illinois
1 review
“We stay there every year”
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We have always had a pleasant and restful stay at "Heartland" and will continue to stay there when in Dubuque.

  • Liked — clean and quiet.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmppyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    209
    116
    63
    36
See reviews for
248
156
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Rooms were clean and comfortable. I wish I could
have taken the bed home with me! I never slept so well. The pool is very small and not enough outlets in the rooms. The continental breakfast is awesome. Waffles, biscuit and gravy, doughnuts, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, english muffins, juice, coffee. Nice eating area. Staff was very friendly. Many outside entries for easy access to rooms. Our particular room had a problem with the cable t.v. We did not get nearly as many channels as we were supposed to. Would've liked the kids to be able to watch cartoons.

  • Liked — comfortable beds, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — lack of outlets, small pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

I stayed at the Heartland Inn for 1 night during a business trip to Dubuque in November 2006. The room was adequate... about what you'd expect from this type of hotel. It seemed clean enough. I agree with a previous review about the lighting -- even with all the lamps on in the room it seemed dark. The room contained a mini-refrigerator, which was a nice touch. The heater unit in the room had a fan that ran continuously (rather than cycling on and off), which I tend to like since it drowns out any exterior noise.

I did not visit the pool, so I can't comment on it.

The front desk had cookies around the time I checked in (5 pm), and there was also a movie theater-style popcorn machine and I believe the front desk attendant said they had complimentary soup in the breakfast room.

I enjoyed the complimentary expanded continental breakfast. It wasn't huge but it had everything you need to get you on your way -- waffles, biscuits and gravy, toast, oatmeal, etc. Much better than some places that just have donuts and juice.

My only minor complaint is that the rooms do not include an iron and ironing board -- generally a necessity for the business traveler. I had to go to the front desk to get an iron and one of those mini-ironing boards, which you set on a table top and are somewhat difficult to use.

Despite the iron/ironing board issue, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wjb112799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Heartland Inn West, April 25 & 26th, Had a deluxe corner room with sofa & recliner. The King bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. Room was very clean and large enough for our needs. Bathroom very clean with nice large towels, the hair dryer was missing but the front desk gave us one. Bath had nice lighting also. The only negative thing about the room was the poor lighting in main room for reading what is needed are 100watt bulbs. We asked for a "no smoking room" which was granted, but the hallway had a strong odor of smoke for being a non smoking area. Breakfast room was very nice & clean with the typical fare, plus some added choices. The building and grounds were kept up and clean. The hallways are showing their age and are in need of some attention, the front desk staff (Chris & Jason) get an A+ in our book. They treated us very well, helping us with dining suggestions etc. A good place to stay when in Dubuque Iowa about a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAIDMANNSLUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Fast check in, friendly clerk. I asked for 2 deluxe rooms, got 1. Price supposedly the same for standard or deluxe but they already gave us $10 off each room for the problem. Standard room was king bed, Serta Perfect Sleeper and very comfy. Nicely decorated room, very clean, no signs of wear & tear. Older A/C but effective & quiet. Older 19" TV, OK picture, lots of channels. Clean bathroom. Deluxe room extra large with 2 windows. 25" TV, microwave, refrigerator as in the standard room, very large bath. Nice breakfast area, bagels, muffins, waffles, cereal, juices. Yes, the pool is small, more like 20' x 20', similar to the Fairfield down the street. I saw those rooms, the Heartland is nicer.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BaldLoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Pool is really small - 10 ft x 10 ft and 4 foot deep. Probably better hotels in the area

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#12 of 17 in Dubuque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Address: 4025 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Heartland Inn - Dubuque West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Dubuque West
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing