We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“acceptable”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms were a bit small. Barely enough room on the bathroom counter to put our items.Doors slammed while I was trying to sleep and all the walls shook-that was a bit annoying. The room was clean and seemed to be recently painted/updated. Bed was comfortable. We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that. Also there is a bar in the hotel and we were given discount coupons to use but we didn't use them. Bar looked nice though at a glance.They had a popcorn maker in the lobby but I never saw any popcorn available and I walked through several times. The breakfast was average-cereal, bagels, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit. Amble space to eat. Overall, for the price (which was quite a bit less than others in the area) it was acceptable for a one night stay. Would consider staying here again. My #1 priority is cleanliness and it did pass that test.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saritaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    219
    121
    70
    36
See reviews for
258
165
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Room was very musty. Must be going through a renovation - there were paint patches on the main wall, like they were repairing it and going to repaint. Toilet paper roll holder fell off after barely touching it. TV didn't have all the channels as promised until they reprogrammed it. However, the staff seemed very accommodating and did fix any issues we had quickly after bringing them up. They seemed a bit concerned on giving us extra towels/pillows, like they've had trouble with them being stolen in the past but they did give them to us. The kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was standard but a nice to have. They had a bar on site which was unusual but we didn't get a chance to check it out since we did have our kids along - nice feature though.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank gailpet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly enough, but the halls were incredibly hot and humid. I don't think that the halls are air conditioned at all. Granted, we stayed when the temperatures were in the 90s, but we were all sweating by the time we made it from our room to the exit. Also, an elevator would be awesome. My husband had to trek up and down the stairs to get all of our luggage to our rooms. Finally, the internet leaves quite a bit to be desired. When I finally was able to get enough of a signal to get on, I was happy to see that I could pay $3 for faster internet (I work online, so having the internet on a daily basis is a must). I quickly filled out the form and clicked submit, but I lost signal before the document would submit (very slooooow internet). I tried this several times without any success. I suppose you get what you pay for, but we paid over $120 for a King room which isn't "bargain basement", in my opinion....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheregoesKarree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubuque hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable, staff helpful and rates reasonable. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at your Baymont Inn, 4025 McDonald Drive, Dubuque, Iowa. My room was very clean, quiet, and updated. I also got to check out the new bar/lounge and found it inviting, cozy, and reasonably priced. The bar manager Jessica did an excellent job with service and great conversation. Thank you once again for a wonderful stay. I love this place so much I'm bringing my wife here for vacation! I recommend this Baymont Inn to everyone who travels in the Dubuque area.

Thanks again,

Jeff J

Room Tip: They are very accomodating, so just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

For the inexpensive price we paid for our room, I wasn't expecting much - but this was really my favorite hotel stay in quite awhile!! The staff were consistently friendly, efficient, and competent (a combination I rarely find). And the rooms that we and our friends stayed in were *clean*. I'm a picky type of neatnik - and I just loved not finding random hairs in the bathroom or dust in the corners. Our room was noticeably cleaner than many rooms I've stayed in at more expensive hotels.

The continental breakfast was the usual fare, but fresh and well organized, and well staffed. And the free popcorn machine in the lobby was fun too :)

I usually don't like staying in any hotels, because of possibly grumpy staff and questionable levels of cleanliness in the room. But I'll definitely be looking for Baymont the next time I have to stay in a hotel :)

Room Tip: I booked online to get a discount, but I called the clerk at the desk to help make sure my reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The room and building were clean, the clerk was friendly. The room had just enough space for two queen beds. Bed was very hard, my back was sore the next day. Rate was very good- less than $60 per night so it was a good place to crash while the family was passing through.

Only real negative was the breakfast that was offered. Biscuits and grave, cereal, or toast/bagels only. Nothing very exciting- if I went again I would skip the free breakfast and stop at McDonalds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Address: 4025 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Heartland Inn - Dubuque West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Dubuque West
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing