We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad to have Hot and Spicy in Dubuque.”
Review of Hot & Spicy Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hot & Spicy Grill
Cuisines: Indian
Description: It is very new. News article: http://www.thonline.com/article.cfm?id=292085
Restaurant details
Description: It is very new. News article: http://www.thonline.com/article.cfm?id=292085
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So glad to have Hot and Spicy in Dubuque.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I love Indian food and have it any chance I can. The years before we had Hot and Spicy, I would take the occasional Indian cooking class here in Dubuque, make it at home or enjoy it when I was out of town. I come to hot and spicy lunch buffet a couple of times a month. Sometimes it's better than others. I always enjoy my visit with the owner. If you want more spice they have sauces to add. When it's good, it's really good and when it's just average I still leave feeling full and happy. This small business is with supporting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FullHouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bad experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have heard bad reviews about this restaurant from my Indian friends. Yet I wanted to try it once.

With very low expectation, we went on a Saturday noon for the lunch buffet. I was very happy to see so many dishes and started to wonder why people complained about the food. But when I started to eat, I realized the reason. The biriyani was bland. None of the side dishes were good. The naan was hard. The food was really bad. I didn't expect it to be authentic. At least it should taste good. But it didn't. 3 of us went and none of us liked the food. We don't care much about the ambiance and decor when the food itself doesn't taste good.

If you want to try Indian food, this is not the right place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena,IL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went to Hot and Spicy with family yesterday, despite being tepid about Indian food, especially when it comes from a buffet. My experience in the past with buffet food of this type is that it all tastes the same and the meats tend to be dry. So with pretty low expectations I made my way to the buffet line. WOW!!! The flavors were rich and so good. The chicken in each entree I tried was moist and delicious. My favorite was chicken mehti muhti, a creamy yogurt and tomato based sauce that was perfect with the naan. Try the breads, they are great. Now, I can't wait to go back. This restaurant is a new local gem. The owner was such a gracious host as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Level Contributor
283 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed the luncheon buffet Sunday after church. The dishes were very flavorful and we tried almost all of them. The nan bread did the trick to sop up the tasty sauces. Our waiter was attentive and very knowledgeable, answering questions and making suggestions. I especially love my fresh mango lassie. It was like drinking dessert. The tandori chicken was very good and I've eaten it in a lot of different places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scronk0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“authentic and very good”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed the buffet today! A nice selection of dishes, multiple types of rice, good nan .

Loved the mango drink, good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuntadeMita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing