We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food close by if your traveling”
Review of Carlos O'kelly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carlos O'kelly's
Ranked #96 of 208 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
367 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food close by if your traveling”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The food was great, hot and came fast. The service was very good. The atmosphere was friendly. and lots of sports on the TV's throughout.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Great variety of food and excellent margaritas. The owner is very active in the community working with non-profits and giving back. Excellent choice for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, good service.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's a classic O'Kelly's, same food as all the rest. If you like Carlos, you'll enjoy this one. On the down side; the inside of the restaurant is showing signs of wear and age. Booths are getting worn looking and have tears, lots food crumbs in the corners under the booths, some cob webs hanging from the ceiling, etc. I do think it's unfortunate that the franchise is letting the place slide down hill; however, I do like the food and the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican Food, Really?”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We headed for this place first thing when we moved to Dubuque, never went back. You can't call this mexican food. Taco Bell is better. The chips are from the store, the nacho cheese sauce is watery. The mexican sauce is has a very odd and no authentic taste. This place is over priced and the food did not sit well, we now go to Las Aztecas.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to the hotel I was staying at”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I walked over to this restuarant and told them I was staying at the MainStay and it seemed like they rolled out the red carpet. The service was great and the food was so good. I highly recommend the appetizer that is a cheese dip and chips. The wait person told me it was good and she was so right!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imelda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlos O'kelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing